Information About Adela - Accrington tutor -
(1 reviews)

Profile Picture

Adela's profile picture


This is how 2 referees rated Adela:





Subjects Taught

Special Needs

Hourly Rate
A-Level £35.00
University £35.00
Casual Learner £35.00

Study Skills

Hourly Rate
A-Level £35.00
University £35.00
Casual Learner £35.00

Map Location

Map for Adela (Dr)


Personal Description:

My undergraduate and higher degrees coupled with extensive teaching and training experience are my foundation for helping FE/HE students realise their full potential. I have a strong multidisciplinary background with achievements in education, academic research, commercial science and university management combined with a passionate work ethos.

Based on feedback (that I’m happy to show you), I’ve been described as approachable, friendly, enthusiastic, flexible/adaptable, supportive/empathetic, respectful, calm and considerate. I can help with study/academic skills development, academic project/dissertation skills, exam preparation and students with a range of additional requirements such as specific learning difficulties. I have both dyslexia and dyspraxia and so genuinely understand what it can be like to have difficulty getting to grips with new learning in education and the workplace.

The student-tutor relationship is really important as you need to have confidence in my ability to help you and I need to be sure that I can of genuine assistance. For this reason, I offer discounts for initial sessions to give us both the opportunity to reflect before making a decision to continue with tutoring sessions.

Please call me to discuss your specific requirements. I’m happy to show you enhanced CRB, full CV, references and teaching portfolio on request.

Tutoring Experience:

I have spent most of my career working in the HE and FE sectors gaining wide ranging experience summarised as follows;

Academic researcher - 10 years

Teacher/lecturer/mentor/coach/trainer - 10 years

Undergraduate and postgraduate project supervision - 7 years

Academic skills development - 6 years

Supporting students with additional requirements/disability support - 6 years

University Management - 5 years

Tutoring Approach:

I firmly believe that everybody has a unique set of traits, skills and talents that can be harnessed and developed to help people achieve their full potential and become confident independent learners. The most important lesson I have learnt from working with people with different backgrounds is to focus on the individual needs of the person.


  • London Met. (2011) - Specific Learning Difficulties (Masters) (✘ Not On File)
  • Cambridge (2005) - PGCE & QTS (Seondary Geography) (PGCE) (✘ Not On File)
  • Oxford Brookes, Bangor, Open University, British Antarctic Survey (2004) - BSc, MSc, PhD Geoscience (Other) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Accrington Special Needs tutor, Accrington Study Skills tutor, Accrington A-Level Special Needs tutor, Accrington University Special Needs tutor, Accrington Casual Learner Special Needs tutor, Accrington A-Level Study Skills tutor, Accrington University Study Skills tutor, Accrington Casual Learner Study Skills tutor