Adaora

Mitcham Tutor

Having graduated from university with a First Class Honors degree in Geography, I am eager to share my knowledge. I am currently studying for my masters at the London School of Economics in Development. I am very passionate not just about teaching, but also about encouraging and motivating young people, whilst getting them to find their strength and talents. So I will not only tutor students, but I can also help with personal statements, interviews etc as this is just as important as the learning process.

I am a very down to earth, friendly and patient person, who loves interacting and engaging with people. I also love travelling, engaging with new cultures and learning new languages.

Tutoring Experience

I previously volunteered as a teaching assistant at a primary school in London for a full academic year. Furthermore, last summer I was chosen by the British Council and Thai Ministry of Education to intern in Thailand for 10 weeks. With English as the official language of the ASEAN Economic Community, the Thai Ministry of Education has put the development of English skills at the top of the educational agenda. My internship in a primary school consisted of planning English lessons each day for children from the ages of four to twelve years old and teaching English through participatory activities and interaction within the classroom. Thus, my teaching skills are excellent as I am confident and enjoy the teaching process.

Also, during my undergraduate studies I volunteered for the Royal Geographical Society as a Geography ambassador, in which I travelled around the UK teaching and promoting Geography to students in a fun and interactive way.

Furthermore, I have honed my passion for teaching by delivering private one-to-one tuition to both A Level and GCSE Geography and English students on a weekly basis. I have great experience across all ages as my tutees range from five years old to eighteen years old.

Tutoring Approach

My tutoring approach differs depending on the student, thus I tailor my lessons to the specific requirements and needs of the tutee. It is useful if tutees can pick out particular topics they are struggling with so that the lessons can be focused around them. However, although subject knowledge is important, it is also vital to have an understanding of exam techniques especially at A Level. At A Level, the key to high grades is not just about what you write but how you write.

As I studied English and Geography at A Level I am very confident with the AQA specification, thus I am familiar with the knowledge and exam techniques required to ensure academic success. I am also very confident with teaching the OCR Geography specification as I have tutored this specification many times.

However, I also make the learning process fun and encourage discussions during the sessions as this is key to enjoying the lessons, whilst retaining the information given to the tutee.

In these sessions students will be provided with a comprehensive range of resources and support in line with the new Geography AQA A Level and the OCR specification enabling students to realise their full potential.

LanguagesEnglish (British), French
AvailabilityWeekdays (all times)
References Available On File

Qualifications

University of Leicester 2016BachelorsBA (Hons) Geography
London School of Economics2017MastersDevelopment

Adaora's Feedback

Feedback
2
Published feedback
2
Unpublished feedback (Usually negative)0
Rating from 2 references
Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism
Subjects taught
EnglishOne-to-oneOnline
Primary£25£21.25
Secondary£25£21.25
GCSE£35£29.75
A-Level£35£29.75
Casual Learner£25£21.25
GeographyOne-to-oneOnline
Secondary£25£21.25
GCSE£35£29.75
A-Level£35£29.75
University£35£29.75
Casual Learner£25£21.25
English (Foreign Language)One-to-oneOnline
Primary£25£21.25
Secondary£25£21.25
GCSE£25£21.25
A-Level£25£21.25
University£25£21.25
Casual Learner£25£21.25