Information About Adam - Gloucester tutor -
(1 reviews)

Profile Picture

Adam's profile picture


This is how 2 referees rated Adam:





Subjects Taught


Hourly Rate
A-Level £30.00


Hourly Rate
A-Level £30.00

Government and Politics

Hourly Rate
A-Level £30.00
University £30.00
Casual Learner £30.00

Entrance Exams

Hourly Rate
College £30.00

Philosophy / Critical Thinking

Hourly Rate
A-Level £30.00
University £30.00
Casual Learner £30.00

Map Location

Map for Adam (Mr)


Personal Description:

I am currently two years in to my PhD with my thesis being centred on Cyber Security in International Politics. I have only recently moved in with my partner in Gloucester and am looking forward to exploring the area now that I'm settled. I have a keen interest in music; I play the saxophone and am currently attempting to learn the guitar. I also am what can be described as an avid photographer, I would love to describe myself as semi-professional but I would only be lying to myself, it is however an enjoyable hobby.

Having taught at varying levels throughout my path through higher education, including outreach programmes aimed at secondary and primary school level, and most recently at university level I am keen to carry on this trend and hopefully inspire some of my own enthusiasm in my students.

Tutoring Experience:

While studying for my undergraduate in Norwich I was given the chance to have my first experience at teaching. Working with the university outreach team I helped organise and run specialised sessions of prospective students from a wide variety of backgrounds and from primary school age through to school leaver age.

On moving to continue my studies my continuing enjoyment of teaching led to me being given the opportunity to present my first lecture to undergraduates, this specifically dealt with my own area of expertise, cyber-security.

Moving in to my PhD I am now currently employed as a teaching assistant by my university (Royal Holloway, University of London) in the Politics and International Relations department. I am currently responsible for planning and delivering seminars for the following modules at my University:

Introduction to International Relations - 1st Year Module
War and Security - 2nd Year Module
International Political Economy - 2nd Year Module

Tutoring Approach:

First and foremost teaching has to be made accessible to the student. And, as every student is different what this means to me is that every session has to be tailored to fit each specific individual. The aim has to be to make them feel the same interest for the subject that I do and then harness that interest to help them achieve their goals.

My methods have always attempted to modify my teaching to suit the needs of each student. I try my best to utilise modern technology as much as I can. This can include the use of online reference materials, video, film, current affairs in the form of news, and a wide range of other sources. In recognising that every student learns differently I aim to find the best way to engage with each student, be they a visual, textual or physical learner.

Having gone through the education system myself, and not all that long ago, I try to build a relationship with each student that is not akin to that of a teacher at school or an examiner. I want the student to feel comfortable enough that they can express themselves and so learn in a comfortable and non-pressured environment.

My experiences with this method so far have led to me achieving the highest student satisfaction report in my department as well as being nominated for the college teaching award for post graduate teachers This is the level of service and satisfaction that I want to bring to my students here as well as in the lecture halls of university.

Please note that any appointments that are cancelled by you within 24 hours of the start of that appointment will incur a charge of the same value of the cancelled appointment. If however, another client can take up this slot then no charge will be applied. Thank you for your understanding.


  • Royal Holloway, University of London (2016) - PhD Politics and International Relations (Doctorate) (✔ On File)
  • Royal Holloway, University of London (2012) - MSc International Relations: Transnational Security Studies (Masters) (✔ On File)
  • University of East Anglia (2011) - BA (hons) Politics, Philosophy and Economics (Bachelors) (✔ On File)
  • Bishop Wordsworth's Grammar (2007) - A levels in English Literature, Chemistry and Modern History (School) (✘ Not On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Gloucester English tutor, Gloucester History tutor, Gloucester Government and Politics tutor, Gloucester Entrance Exams tutor, Gloucester Philosophy / Critical Thinking tutor, Gloucester A-Level English tutor, Gloucester A-Level History tutor, Gloucester A-Level Government and Politics tutor, Gloucester University Government and Politics tutor, Gloucester Casual Learner Government and Politics tutor, Gloucester A-Level Entrance Exams tutor, Gloucester A-Level Philosophy / Critical Thinking tutor, Gloucester University Philosophy / Critical Thinking tutor, Gloucester Casual Learner Philosophy / Critical Thinking tutor