Skip to main content

Information About Aaron - Oxford tutor -
(5 reviews)

Profile Picture

Aaron's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Aaron:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Chemistry

Hourly Rate
Secondary £30.00
GCSE £40.00
A-Level £40.00

Biology

Hourly Rate
Primary £30.00
Secondary £30.00
GCSE £40.00
A-Level £40.00
University £50.00
Casual Learner £40.00

Entrance Exams

Hourly Rate
College £50.00
University £50.00

Medicine

Hourly Rate
A-Level £40.00
University £50.00

Map Location

Map for Aaron (Dr)

Share

Personal Description:

Hello! I'm Aaron. I'm 31, I live in Oxford and am studying as a mature medical student.

I have a Masters in Biochemistry, a PhD in Molecular Biology

In my free time I volunteer as a First Aider for St John Ambulance. For fun I cycle, run, climb and play drums in a Klezmer band.

I am happy to travel to students for tuition but I do ask for 50p per mile travelled over 5 miles (so if you're 10 miles away, thats a 20 mile round trip, at £10 per visit) - this is to cover my time travelling. I don't offer block discounts as I prefer not to be paid in advance. However, I am happy to offer 10% discount on half day (4 hour) sessions, and 15% on a full day (8 hour) revision sessions.

Tutoring Experience:

I have been tutoring GCSE, A level, European Bach and degree level Biology, Chemistry and Medicine in Oxford for the last two years whilst studying clinical medicine on the graduate entry course. Prior to this I led tutorial sessions for undergraduate molecular biology and biochemistry at Imperial College London. I have also provided one-to-one tuition over several months to undergraduates and ERASMUS students in laboratory projects both at Imperial and at UCL.

Teaching is an extremely rewarding experience for me. I enjoy developing a rapport with a small number of students and watching their understanding grow as we weave together biology, chemistry and medicine.

Tutoring Approach:

This will largely depend on the student, and sessions will be tailored towards the student's aims and interests.

I am happy to teach problem areas, help prepare for exams or explore subject areas in greater depth than might be possible in school. My manner is relaxed and informal, but with that I bring an enthusiasm for the basic sciences. Students hoping to be doctors or vets will benefit from my tuition that will highlight how basic chemistry and physiology underpins modern medicine.

As part of my tutoring I leave students with problem sets between sessions and/or mark past papers. If required I can also provide crib sheets for each topic area covered, so that students don't have to worry they will miss key points during discussions.

Qualifications:

  • University College London (2011) - PhD, molecular biology and drug discovery (Doctorate) (✔ On File)
  • University of Cambridge (2006) - 2:1. M Sci. Biochemistry (Masters) (✔ On File)
  • University of Cambridge (2005) - 2:1, B.A. Natural Sciences (Bachelors) (✔ On File)
  • King George Fifth College, Sefton (2002) - A levels at grade A in Biology, Chemistry, Physics and Maths (College) (✔ On File)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Tags: Oxford Chemistry tutor, Oxford Biology tutor, Oxford Entrance Exams tutor, Oxford Medicine tutor, Oxford Secondary Chemistry tutor, Oxford GCSE Chemistry tutor, Oxford A-Level Chemistry tutor, Oxford Primary Biology tutor, Oxford Secondary Biology tutor, Oxford GCSE Biology tutor, Oxford A-Level Biology tutor, Oxford University Biology tutor, Oxford Casual Learner Biology tutor, Oxford A-Level Entrance Exams tutor, Oxford University Entrance Exams tutor, Oxford A-Level Medicine tutor, Oxford University Medicine tutor