Skip to main content

Information About Thomas - Torquay teacher

Profile Picture

Thomas's profile picture

References

This is how 3 referees rated Thomas:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Instruments Taught

Guitar

Hourly Fee
Beginner £25.00
Intermediate £25.00
Advanced £25.00
Casual £25.00

Map Location

Personal Description:

I am a 29-year-old British male living in Torbay. I am an extremely relaxed and friendly tutor that is always happy to help and meet the needs of any student. There are 3 big passions in my life, these are; Music, Gaming, and academia. A strange mix, I will admit, but it seems to blend well with teaching secondary school aged students as interests are relatable.

My favourite 3 bands are:
Silverstein
Dance Gavin Dance
City and Colour

My three favourite songs are:
'Goodbye' by Toe
'I Don't Love You' by My Chemical Romance
'Grand Optimist' by City and Colour

I recommend checking them out if you're every curious about my playing style and influence before any lesson!

Tutoring Experience:

Began self-taught Music at the age of 14 for my Music GCSE's. Became fascinated by composition and innovative ways of making music. Continued studies of Music in A-Level and then on to Ba(Hons) Music Technology at University. After graduating with a 2:1 from the University of Bedfordshire, I immediately went on to study my Post-Graduate Degree in Education in Music + Performing Arts.

From here I became a qualified teacher, teaching all around Torbay and a year in Egypt. I have been privately tutoring Music ever since. The last 4 years I have focused on Special Education Needs teaching, with a focus on Autism Spectrum Disorder.

Currently, I have:
14 years Music experience.
7 years teaching experience.
5 years private tuition experience.
4 years focused SEN experience.

Tutoring Approach:

For Music: If you are not enjoying your learning and playing, there is a reason for it. This could be either you're not learning what you enjoy or is being more work than play. My ethos is to make learning fun, whilst being as educational and beneficial as possible.
As a self-taught musician, I have made all the mistakes any other learner could have made, I know what it looks like and how to overcome them. I give all the tools to my students for them to be able to teach themselves outside of lessons and consistently get better long after our sessions are concluded.

For SEN and challenging behaviours: I am an advocate for the mantra "The behaviour isn't the problem, the problem is the problem." Which sounds confusing, however, those who are frustrated at something not working can be focused on their frustration. The actual focus should be what has caused the frustration in the first place. I am always keen to get to the bottom of the issue and solve it at its core.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • University of Worcester (2014) - PGCE Music + Performing Arts (PGCE) (✘ Not On File)
  • University of Bedfordshire (2013) - Ba(Hons) Music Technology (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Torquay Guitar teacher, Torquay Beginner Guitar teacher, Torquay Intermediate Guitar teacher, Torquay Advanced Guitar teacher, Torquay Casual Guitar teacher