Skip to main content

Information About Sarah - Wickford teacher

Profile Picture

Sarah's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Sarah:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Instruments Taught

Sarah offers a FREE first / introductory lesson!

Piano

Hourly Fee
Beginner £20.00
Intermediate £20.00
Advanced £20.00
Casual £20.00

Map Location

Map for Sarah

Personal Description:

Hi there. I am Sarah, a piano teacher and lover of all kinds of music. I am looking to teach ADULTS ONLY. I recently had a break from teaching to write a book, but am now re-building my student base as teaching is what I love to do best. I have two friendly dogs who are present when I teach so you will need to be dog friendly yourself!

Tutoring Experience:

I have taught classical and popular piano in my home for 20 years, both casually and to ABRSM Grade 5 standard. I most enjoy teaching adults to play for pleasure. There is no age limit to learning the instrument, as long as you can find some time in the week to practise.

Tutoring Approach:

I am enthusiastic, approachable and tailor my lessons to suit the individual, as everyone learns in their own way. Learning should be fun, energised and based upon the student's desire to learn. I teach playing through the reading of musical notation, not from ear, nor do I teach composition.

I teach a wide variety of classical, contemporary and easy-listening styles, and anything that the student may want to try. I use a lot of graded material so even if you are not working towards a grade you will have a good idea of how well you are progressing. Exams are not necessary for learning the instrument although for those that need a focus or goal to work towards, they can be very rewarding, but regular practise is needed if exams are to be approached successfully. A balance must be struck between learning the skills of playing and enjoying playing the piano.

Theory of music and performance is taught alongside the practical art of playing the piano, and is done in a fun approachable way. Too often it is seen as the boring or 'difficult' part of learning an instrument and that should not be the case.

I design and print my own illustrated worksheets, and provide some music free of charge, although student books need to be purchased by the student.

Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • The Open University (2009) - Open (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Wickford Piano teacher, Wickford Beginner Piano teacher, Wickford Intermediate Piano teacher, Wickford Advanced Piano teacher, Wickford Casual Piano teacher