Skip to main content

Information About Jan - Deeside teacher -

Profile Picture

Jan's profile picture


This is how 2 referees rated Jan:





Instruments Taught


Hourly Fee
Beginner £26.00
Intermediate £26.00
Advanced £26.00
Casual £26.00

Map Location

Personal Description:

I am passionate about music - classical in particular - although I am interested in most other types as well. I love playing the piano - but actually get more pleasure from teaching others. I am a mother of two grown-up sons - both of whom I taught to play piano to grade 8 standard. One now has a first class Music degree and has gone on to pursue a career in music. I am a grade 8 pianist myself and also have a BA honours degree.

Tutoring Experience:

I have been teaching piano for 16 years both in my own home and at a local primary school (as well as remotely - via Skype - during the lockdown periods). I have an excellent ABRSM exam success rate. In addition to teaching piano, I also teach music theory (mainly so students can pass their ABRSM grade 5 exam).

Tutoring Approach:

I teach anyone from aged 7 upwards. (My eldest student is in his 80s and I have no upper age limit). I specialise in beginners - although I have taught several students to grade 8 standard. Most of my students choose to sit ABRSM examinations but - although I encourage this - I am also happy to teach those who just want to play for pleasure.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English (British)
Additional Languages: Spanish
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)


  • ABRSM (2006) - Piano grade 8 (Other) (✘ Not On File)
  • ABRSM (1976) - Music Theory grade 5 (Other) (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Deeside Piano teacher, Deeside Beginner Piano teacher, Deeside Intermediate Piano teacher, Deeside Advanced Piano teacher, Deeside Casual Piano teacher