Skip to main content

Information About Eleanor - Perth teacher

Badges

Instruments Taught

French Horn

Hourly Fee
Beginner £18.00
Intermediate £18.00
Advanced £18.00

Map Location

Personal Description:

I am a 19 year old French Horn player and I currently live in Perth and Kinross, although I am most likely moving through to Edinburgh in September 2014. I have been playing French Horn since I was 8 years old and I love it. I am currently studying BA(Hons) Applied Music through the Universities of the Highlands and Islands and have just finished 1st year.

I have played in many different ensembles and genres of music such as: The National Youth Orchestras of Scotland, The Universities of Scotland Symphony Orchestra, Perth Youth Orchestra, The Gordon Duncan Experience, Caledonian Winds, The Central Band of the Royal British Legion Scotland as well as a few others. Besides performing all over Scotland I have toured overseas, recently to Holland and last summer to Germany twice, one for a military tattoo and the other a beer marching festival. I have also taken part in music festivals such as Celtic Connections 14, the Aberdeen Music Festival and few years ago and the Trad Awards that has been broadcast on telly.

I love to play in ensembles and groups and also explore the music side a lot more. I have experience in mainly orchestral and wind ensemble playing but have also done things in the traditional music scene and I understand a lot about this and varies other styles.

I could teach up to Grade 6 Horn as I have not yet sat Grade 7 or 8 and feel that I would be able to teach further once I am further on in my degree. I would be happy to teach pieces further than grade 6 if the student wishes, and I want them to be happy and do something that they would like to do.

Tutoring Experience:

Personally, I have not had much teaching experience. I have taken lessons for warm-ups and scales etc, and how to teach below grade 6 level. I have shadowed many instructors and have had work experience in instrumental teaching, but this would be my only actual experience of teaching. I am however very friendly and encouraging and would love the student to thrive to the best of their potential but at their speed of progress.

Tutoring Approach:

I would always start with scales and warm ups, as well and work through the Anton Horner exercise book. I have various pieces from the ABRSM grades for students to work towards. I would work at either 1 hour or 2 hour lessons depending on the situation, although personally two hour lessons are more desired as you would get a lot more time for pieces after spending the first part of the lesson warming up. I feel that I would be a good teacher to an aspiring horn player and as I am still learning myself through my degree, I know what it is like to be a beginner/new start to the Horn and I hope I could be someone that is approachable and trust-worthy and to make people want to learn the Horn and continue to progress into a great player.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English (British)
Additional Languages: German
Availability: Weekdays (all times)
References Available: No (✘ Not On File)

Qualifications:

  • Perth High School (2013) - SQA Advanced Higher Music (School) (✘ Not On File)
  • Perth High School (2012) - SQA Higher Music (School) (✘ Not On File)
  • Perth High School (2011) - SQA Intermediate 2 Music (School) (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Perth French Horn teacher, Perth Beginner French Horn teacher, Perth Intermediate French Horn teacher, Perth Advanced French Horn teacher