Skip to main content

Information About Connie - Perth teacher -

Profile Picture

Connie's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Connie:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Instruments Taught

Piano

Hourly Fee
Beginner £30.00
Intermediate £30.00
Casual £30.00

Music Theory

Hourly Fee
Beginner £30.00
Intermediate £30.00
Casual £30.00

Map Location

Personal Description:

Hi there! Iā€™m Connie from McKechnie Private Tutoring, a piano and music tutor from Perth. graduated from Perth college uhi in 2018 and have taught for coming on 4 years now. My student range is from ages 8+ and from beginner to Adv Higher level (grade 1 to grade 5)
I have taught students with a range of backgrounds and have experience in teaching students with different learning abilities such as autism, adhd and dyslexia.
My lessons are fun and tailored around what the student wants and needs.
I am a huge musical theatre player and an avid queen fan but I am able to teach various styles of music as I hold my degree in Popular Music.
I am a member of the pvg scheme and have a qualification in child protection.

Tutoring Experience:

I taught music to 2 separate first year classes at a local High school for 8 weeks, at the same time as doing solo lessons for 15 months before taking time off for maternity. I then restarted lessons in 2019 and have had a very steady and reliable client base ever since, teaching a range of children learning a new skill, teens having extra help due to covid and home schooling and adults looking for a new hobby.
During the COVID 19 pandemic I taught online and (when safe to do so) at a local community centre to vulnerable teens. I Have been tutoring piano since 2017.

Tutoring Approach:

I have a very relaxed and informal approach to teaching, I want my students to have fun while learning at the same time. I believe that being a friend as well as a teacher is fundamental in the learning of the younger generation, all my students have responded well to this and it creates a strong bond between student and teacher, helping the student learn and retain more. I make up loads of games and fun warm up excersises for my students and tailor my lessons to whatever my student wants to learn. I am open to teaching all sorts of music.
I like to format my lessons to include scales and music theory as well as piano pieces.
I start my lessons by doing some theory games, and worming through scales, arpeggios and chords, spending about 15/20 minutes.
Then for the rest of the lesson I teach songs that suit the students ability and makes them feel confident in playing while also teaching them new techniques and increasing their skill level.
I am not an abrsm tutor so would not be looking to put anyone through the graded exams, but that means that students aren't under as much pressure and stress outside of school time, and I truly believe from experience that students perform better and engage more when they are in a relaxed environment.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (āœ” On File)

Qualifications:

  • Perth college uhi (2018) - Popular music (Bachelors) (āœ” On File)

Tags: Perth Piano teacher, Perth Music Theory teacher, Perth Beginner Piano teacher, Perth Intermediate Piano teacher, Perth Casual Piano teacher, Perth Beginner Music Theory teacher, Perth Intermediate Music Theory teacher, Perth Casual Music Theory teacher