Skip to main content

Information About Clare - Shrewsbury teacher -

Profile Picture

Clare's profile picture

References

This is how 6 referees rated Clare:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Instruments Taught

Clare offers a discount of 50% on their first / introductory lesson!

Piano

Hourly Fee
Beginner £24.00
Intermediate £24.00

Keyboard

Hourly Fee
Beginner £24.00

Map Location

Map for Clare

Personal Description:

Music has always played an important part of my life - I grew up in mid Wales where everyone played an instrument. I have been playing the piano since I was 6 years old and passed Grade 8 with merit when I was 15. I took an AS level in Music (performing) in 1992 and regularly took part in Eisteddfodau events and Urdd (Welsh youth society). I also played the 'cello in my local Youth Orchestra. My degree is in Mathematics (which goes hand in hand with music), which I followed with a Postgraduate Certificate in Education at the University of Cambridge. I am local to Shrewsbury and mum to lively 5 and 2 year old boys.

Tutoring Experience:

I have tutored a variety of piano students since I was 17 years old. Since 2004 I have been working as a Mathematics teacher at a large secondary school in Telford, where I currently work part-time tutoring students who are part of the Pupil Premium Grant. Between 2007-9 I worked as a Year 6 teacher at a Junior school. One of my favourite lessons was music and my class regularly put on performances as part of their assemblies. I also ran the school choir and accompanied the school on the local church pipe organ when we had services there.

Tutoring Approach:

Everyone is different! I'm keen to allow children (and adults) aged 6 upwards the opportunities to experience all sorts of music. Some students might be keen to do exams in quick succession. Others might prefer to take a bit of time to explore what they enjoy. Whether it be Bach, Mozart, Beethoven, Debussy or Rachmaninov (to name a few), there are arrangements of all sorts of famous pieces that are approachable from a fairly early stage in learning the piano.

Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • University of Cambridge (Homerton) (1998) - Middle school (PGCE) (✔ On File)
  • Cardiff University (1997) - Mathematics (Bachelors) (✔ On File)
  • ABRSM (1990) - Grade 8 (merit) (Other) (✔ On File)

Tags: Shrewsbury Piano teacher, Shrewsbury Keyboard teacher, Shrewsbury Beginner Piano teacher, Shrewsbury Intermediate Piano teacher, Shrewsbury Beginner Keyboard teacher