Skip to main content

Information About Maya - Hackney teacher -

Profile Picture

Maya's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Maya:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Languages Taught

English

Price Guide
Beginner £30.00
Intermediate £30.00
Advanced £30.00

Spanish

Price Guide
Beginner £30.00
Intermediate £30.00
Advanced £30.00

Map Location

Personal Description:

Hola! After my degree (Anthropology and Spanish), I moved to Spain for two years and began tutoring Spanish to foreigners and TESOL to the Spanish. I moved back to London a year ago and since then have kept my love of Spanish alive by tutoring both adults and young people, and by working in a secondary school running Spanish club and supporting in lessons as a teaching assistant.

Having only started learning Spanish at degree level and then moving to Spain to study at university for a year (the only non native speaker in my class) I completely understand the struggles and difficulties of learning Spanish. However, I am now fluent, have lived and worked in a Spanish secondary school and have Spanish-speaking friends and partner, so I am proof that it can be done !

I can help you achieve the Spanish goals you have, whether it be fluid conversation, excellent grammar knowledge or writing essays and articles in Spanish.

In my spare time I like to cook, attend many dance and yoga classes and am learning Arabic. I have travelled extensively in Latin America, and worked on a farm in Mexico for 6 months.

Teaching Experience:

I have worked as a language support assistant for three years, first in Granada and then in Madrid. I planned lessons, delivered content and worked with small groups of students in a state secondary school.

Currently I work in a secondary school supporting SEN and vulnerable students and running the KS4 Spanish club. As a result, I have an in depth knowledge of the KS3/4 Spanish curriculum. I have also supported in some A level classes.

Throughout my working life, I have tutored privately with adults and with small groups, and helped them achieve their goal. Last year, some of my adult students sat the Spanish GCSE and achieved great grades!

Teaching Approach:

Working with young people, and especially SEN students, means I am extremely patient and creative when it comes to planning lessons. I make sure that I have lots of resources that can inspire conversation, and that also compliment all learning types (visual, oral, manual). I love to play games to get my students speaking in a natural way.

I am committed to my students, and will always plan my lessons according to you goals and desires. This means that each lesson you will see that you are making progress and you will also be challenged.

Working in a school means I have access to great materials, and I always give homework for those that want it.

The feedback I have received from my pupils has always been very positive, and I think this is because I genuinely care about my students and want them to learn Spanish so they can access the great Spanish speaking world!

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (evenings)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • University of Sussex (2016) - Anthropology and Spanish (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
  • Lewisham College (2011) - Diploma in Dance (College) (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Hackney English teacher, Hackney Spanish teacher, Hackney Beginner English teacher, Hackney Intermediate English teacher, Hackney Advanced English teacher, Hackney Beginner Spanish teacher, Hackney Intermediate Spanish teacher, Hackney Advanced Spanish teacher