Skip to main content

Information About Jeff - Carshalton teacher -

Profile Picture

Jeff's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Jeff:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Languages Taught

Jeff offers a discount of 25% on their first / introductory lesson!

English

Price GuideOnline Lessons
Price Guide
Beginner £30.00£27.00
Intermediate £33.00£29.70
Advanced £35.00£31.50
Expert £38.00£34.20

Spanish

Price GuideOnline Lessons
Price Guide
Beginner £30.00£27.00
Intermediate £33.00£29.70
Advanced £35.00£31.50
Expert £38.00£34.20

Russian

Price GuideOnline Lessons
Price Guide
Beginner £30.00£27.00

Map Location

Map for Jeff

Personal Description:

I am a fully qualified teacher with almost 30 years of experience. I regard myself as a friendly and approachable tutor, as well as honest and conscientious, and I pride myself on being able to communicate with students of all ages, from pre-teen to pensioner.

My hobbies are limited to reading these days, as there seems to be no time for much else, and I am particularly fond of English Literature. Dickens and Hardy are two of my favourites, but I am also keen on modern and less serious writers, such as Tom Sharpe and the two Rankins - Robert and Ian.

I have formerly worked full-time in the field of Further Education, teaching English (GCSE, GCE, and IGCSE), EFL/ESOL, and Spanish, plus Study Skills, Academic English, and IELTS for international students at college and university. I am now available full-time for tutoring in the borough of Sutton, although I am prepared to consider other areas (Morden, Banstead, for example) if travelling time is allowed for.

Teaching Experience:

I have taught and tutored English (including EFL and IELTS) and Spanish for the past 30 years or so, in the UK and abroad. I have worked in Spain, Turkey, Kazakhstan and Abu Dhabi, and also for many years in the UK of course. I have worked as a private tutor ever since I started teaching, as I realised that the existing state and private education providers could not meet the demand for high-quality intensive tuition.

I currently offer personal home-based teaching for English and Spanish for people who wish to improve their general abilities in the language. In addition, I tutor Spanish and English for academic exams, such as IELTS, GCSE and A-level.

Although I can offer elementary tuition in Russian, it is my wife who is the expert, being a native speaker.

Teaching Approach:

I endorse the humanist approach, and try to make my tutorials as interesting and relevant as possible. With every tutee I carry out an initial assessment of their needs and abilities, and my teaching begins from there. This approach appears to be successful, and I can provide references.

I would say that my personal style is open and honest, and I encourage my students to learn from their mistakes, rather than chastising them. However, in order to make real progress the tutee has to do her/his homework to reinforce this, and I make this a clear condition of my tutoring.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English (British)
Additional Languages: Russian, Spanish
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • Sheffield Hallam University (1997) - Trinity Diploma in TESOL (Professional) (✘ Not On File)
  • University of Wolverhampton (1993) - English & Spanish (PGCE) (✘ Not On File)
  • Institute of Linguists (1991) - Translation Diploma (Professional) (✘ Not On File)
  • Kingston Poly (1989) - Spanish and Political Science (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Carshalton English teacher, Carshalton Spanish teacher, Carshalton Russian teacher, Carshalton Beginner English teacher, Carshalton Intermediate English teacher, Carshalton Advanced English teacher, Carshalton Expert English teacher, Carshalton Beginner Spanish teacher, Carshalton Intermediate Spanish teacher, Carshalton Advanced Spanish teacher, Carshalton Expert Spanish teacher, Carshalton Beginner Russian teacher