Skip to main content

Information About Ipek - Chelsea teacher

Profile Picture

Ipek's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Ipek:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Languages Taught

Italian

Price Guide
Beginner £40.00
Intermediate £40.00
Advanced £45.00
Expert £50.00

Turkish

Price Guide
Beginner £40.00
Intermediate £40.00
Advanced £45.00
Expert £50.00

Map Location

Map for Ipek

Personal Description:

I was born and raised in Istanbul, Turkey.
When I started studying at the Italian High School of Istanbul, I spent my summer holidays going to language and photography courses in Italy. I graduated from the Italian High School (Liceo Italiano IMI di Istanbul) in 2008.
I visited universities in Istanbul, in Italy and in the UK and considering my discussions with the directors in most of them I decided to study in the UK. I was accepted to the University of Kent in Canterbury to study Joint Honours in Drama and Italian with International Scholarship. I spent my third year of the university abroad, in Bologna, as part of my studies and went to the University of Bologna. I mostly spent my summer holidays going to acting courses at RADA and LAMDA.
After my graduation I sent an application to the UCL to study MA Comparative Literature. I did defer my unconditional offer from the UCL to September 2013 and applied for a businessperson visa to be able to work in the UK. I received my visa and since then I have been working as a freelance actress and also as a private tutor in Italian, Turkish and Italian Literature. I am looking forward to do my MA at the UCL this year.

Teaching Experience:

My teaching experience can be connected to my learning experience. Considering the Italian language as my second one I can assure you that I know how it feels like learning Italian and what does/does not work from the student's perspective. Until now I was taught various of foreign languages and during my studies I was always aware what the main points of learning and what does stay in student's mind. I am new to teaching but I am very confident about it.

Teaching Turkish is different than Italian for me. I am a native speaker but until now I have met many people who were already learning Turkish and also others who were very much looking forward to learning it. I was always interested in their point of view of learning Turkish since I was not very aware of how I did learn speaking and writing in it. I have found out that most of them struggle on similar topics and since then I feel very interested in teaching Turkish and meeting people who are interested in learning it.

Teaching Approach:

My approach to teaching is tailored to each student's needs. Everyone has different ways of learning a language and during our time together we can find the right one for you.
The level of the student will be taken as the starting point. If the level in unknown to the student, a quick test will be given to the student so that I can structure the program according to his/her needs. Sometimes people may know an advanced topic better than an intermediate one, with the help of the test result the weak topics of the student can be found so that a custom plan may be created efficiently.
I have chosen a book to learn Italian that I believe is one of the best on the market. However it is not obligatory to follow the exact plan of the book, I have a wide range of different books, hand-outs and, if needed, also website links that I have personally used as a student of Italian.
If you think that these methods are not for you and if you want something different then we can look into your areas of interest. Italian can be taught by literature, by music, by art, maybe even by its cuisine… there is always a way.

Native Language: Turkish
Additional Languages: English (British), Italian, Japanese, Latin
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • University of Kent, Canterbury (2012) - First Class Honours Degree BA Joint Honours in Drama and Italian with International Scholarship (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
  • University of Bologna, Italy (2011) - Year Abroad: 82/100 (Other) (✘ Not On File)
  • Italian High School of Istanbul (2008) - Maturità: 82/100 (School) (✘ Not On File)
  • Italian High School of Istanbul (2008) - High School Diploma, GPA: 4,36/5 (School) (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Chelsea Italian teacher, Chelsea Turkish teacher, Chelsea Beginner Italian teacher, Chelsea Intermediate Italian teacher, Chelsea Advanced Italian teacher, Chelsea Expert Italian teacher, Chelsea Beginner Turkish teacher, Chelsea Intermediate Turkish teacher, Chelsea Advanced Turkish teacher, Chelsea Expert Turkish teacher