Skip to main content

Information About Dagmar - Birmingham teacher -

Profile Picture

Dagmar's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Dagmar:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Languages Taught

German

Price Guide
Beginner £28.00
Intermediate £28.00
Advanced £33.00

Map Location

Personal Description:

I am a native German speaker and have lived with my English husband and 3 teenage boys in south Birmingham for over 20 years. My profession is Social Work and I have been part time employed by a local authority in Childrens' Services for the same period. I have always enjoyed working with children and over the years had many opportunities to also teach children and adults in formal and informal settings.
I love to travel and to be able to apply the basics of other European languages which helps get more out of the travel experience in terms of culture and meeting people.
I have an optimistic outlook and I am said to be very enthusiastic and motivated in what I am doing. Due to my professional background I have very good 'people skills' and get on well with 'all sorts'.

Teaching Experience:

I have taken a group of children through their German GCSE's at a local secondary school, which I was told achieved 'better results than ever'. This was a real challenge as I had been 'thrown in the deep end' with the class needing a lot of catching up to be done in limited time. I teach my own children German as a foreign language as we speak primarily English in the family. My oldest son has achieved an A* in his German A2 exam (extra-curriculum) and the C1 Goethe Certificate. He is now able to apply his German language skills in his first employment as an Engineer. My middle son has also achieved an A in his German A2 exam and my youngest son is now taking the new and challenging A2 specification early after gaining an A* in his German GCSE Exam (extra-curriculum).
Over the years I have done a lot of individual and group tutoring, for example supporting students whose confidence had been completely trashed as well as teaching German to a professional couple who love to visit the German speaking countries and who wanted to achieve a recognized qualification.
I have given lessons in conversational German to an author of a German textbook for business.
I currently have students at beginners and advanced level for different purposes, not all exam related, and I teach conversational German to a group of adults who were looking for something the college did not provide at their level. Increasingly I am also teaching individual professionals who are planning to relocate to Germany shortly and who need to be equipped with 'the basics'.
I am currently a Visiting Lecturer at a local University.
I have successfully taught pupils exclusively online via **Contact Detail Removed** (due to the distance involved).
I am a freelance teacher for a reputable language school in London and have recently provided intensive tuition to an employee from the Foreign Office who has now been dispatched to Berlin.

Teaching Approach:

The approaches I use are as varied as my teaching experiences above, because they always depend on the individual's or group's learning style and the purpose of the sessions. Obviously with school children preparing for exams I am guided by the National Curriculum/Exam Board and concentrate on their weakness in reading, listening, writing and speaking (in my experience often the latter 2!).
Adults might want some sessions to learn the basics of the language or to brush up their knowledge, either to use on holidays or in their job. Intermediates might like conversational sessions to discuss current topics.
Whatever the clientèle, lessons should be enjoyable and delivered in a lively style to be effective. To me the 'back bone' of every language is vocabulary and grammar which I believe I am able to explain very well. I find it very rewarding to see 'light bulbs go on' when people for the first time understand concepts, which they are then able to apply in different contexts. In my view a language has to be alive and useable to be enjoyable.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: German
Additional Languages: English (British), French, Spanish
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • National Open College Network (2012) - PTLLS (Other) (✘ Not On File)
  • Birmingham University (2006) - PQ 1 (Professional) (✘ Not On File)
  • Fachhochschule fuer Sozialwesen in Bochum/Germany (1987) - Diploma ratified as CQSW (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Birmingham German teacher, Birmingham Beginner German teacher, Birmingham Intermediate German teacher, Birmingham Advanced German teacher