Skip to main content

Information About Carmen - Dulwich teacher -

Profile Picture

Carmen's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Carmen:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Languages Taught

Carmen offers a discount of 25% on their first / introductory lesson!

Italian

Price GuideOnline Lessons
Price Guide
Beginner £32.00£27.20
Intermediate £35.00£29.75
Advanced £35.00£29.75
Expert £35.00£29.75

Spanish

Price GuideOnline Lessons
Price Guide
Beginner £32.00£27.20
Intermediate £35.00£29.75
Advanced £35.00£29.75

Turkish

Price GuideOnline Lessons
Price Guide
Beginner £35.00£29.75

Map Location

Personal Description:

Ciao a tutti! My name is Carmen and I am from Tuscany, Italy. I have 10 years of experience in teaching Italian language and culture, as well as Spanish and Turkish. I relocated to the UK five years ago while completing my Masters in Jewish Studies. Since then, I have worked for various London-based charities focusing on interfaith and education, until my enthusiasm for teaching led me back to schools. Today, I run after-school clubs for heritage-language learners.

I can help you prepare your GCSEs, A levels, University exams, and CILS certification test. Also, I regularly provide strategies for language reinforcement at home and self-study techniques.

Teaching Experience:

I am educated to Masters level and I hold a first-class BA (Hons.) in Linguistics. I taught at the Italian Institutes of Culture and secondary schools across the Middle East for almost three years.

In 2011, I started teaching in primary schools, and I discovered my passion for second language acquisition and primary education. Indeed, I have recently founded a small language school aiming to support the second-generation language maintenance of the Italian speaking communities in South London. Today, teaching to heritage-language learners is my passion and Ambarabà’s main goal.

Teaching Approach:

My approach is entirely student-centered. Before starting a course, I take account of the needs, motivation, and learning style of my students in order to choose a suitable methodology. Motivation, age, academic or professional background, other spoken languages, and interests are all very important variables to tailor a learning journey on you.

I'm specialised in CLT, a communicative-functional approach for teaching foreign languages, and I am constantly developing new educational resources to support children and young adults in their second language acquisition.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: Italian
Additional Languages: English (British), French, Italian, Spanish, Turkish
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • University of Florence (2014) - Master Degree (LM-36) "Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations" (Masters) (✔ On File)
  • University for Foreign people of Siena (2012) - Hon. Bachelor in “Teaching Italian Language to Foreign People" (L-12) (Bachelors) (✔ On File)
  • CILS Centre- University for Foreign People of Siena (Italy) (2011) - Certificate as CILS test Administrator (Professional) (✔ On File)

Tags: Dulwich Italian teacher, Dulwich Spanish teacher, Dulwich Turkish teacher, Dulwich Beginner Italian teacher, Dulwich Intermediate Italian teacher, Dulwich Advanced Italian teacher, Dulwich Expert Italian teacher, Dulwich Beginner Spanish teacher, Dulwich Intermediate Spanish teacher, Dulwich Advanced Spanish teacher, Dulwich Beginner Turkish teacher