Skip to main content

Information About Carmela - Bristol teacher -

Profile Picture

Carmela's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Carmela:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Languages Taught

Carmela offers a discount of 25% on their first / introductory lesson!

English

Price Guide
Beginner £25.00
Intermediate £25.00
Advanced £25.00
Expert £25.00

Italian

Price Guide
Beginner £25.00
Intermediate £25.00

Map Location

Map for Carmela

Personal Description:

Hi! I'm a Private Tutor offering tuition in English and Italian. I graduated with a First Class degree in English from Queen Mary, University of London, and have A-Levels in English Literature, Italian and Theatre Studies. I'm fluent in Italian and travel to Italy on a regular basis to visit my family.

Alongside my private tutoring I have worked as a Teaching Partner at a Primary School, as Media Content Manager for a poetry charity and as a Researcher in factual television. I am passionate about the arts and media, and enjoy writing and performing music with my bands.

Teaching Experience:

I have experience teaching both children and adults, and adapt my lesson plans accordingly. I recently worked as a Teaching Partner at a Primary School for two years, where I planned, delivered and adapted class resources and supported individuals and groups in their learning. This involved supporting students learning English as a Second Language. I also created a number of after school enrichment activities, including Music, Singing and Italian Club.

I have also worked with young people as a Private Tutor, and as an Academic Mentor in group outreach projects preparing students for secondary education. I am conscious of adapting my teaching methods to suit individual needs, and am familiar with the structure of GCSE and A-Level assessments.

As an Italian tutor, I have delivered classes to students of various age groups, levels, and group sizes, developing original materials to make the language relevant and engaging. I have also supported young people and adults with English as a Second Language.

Teaching Approach:

My approach to tutoring is centred around each student's learning style and motivations, with a focus on speaking and using the language independently. I listen carefully to my students, assess their needs, and identify areas that require particular attention. Together with the student I plan short term and long term goals that build towards improving results, whilst encouraging the student to grow in confidence and enthusiasm for the language.

I am always keen to encourage conversation from the very beginning, and adapt my lessons to the student's interests. Whilst working towards a solid understanding of grammar and vocabulary, I also make sure that my students are engaged with the language in a practical and relevant way, using a variety of original exercises and contemporary resources.

Native Language: English (British)
Additional Languages: Italian
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • Queen Mary, University of London (2011) - English BA, 1st Class Hons (Bachelors) (✔ On File)
  • Parkstone Grammar School (2006) - A-Level English Literature (School) (✔ On File)
  • Parkstone Grammar School (2006) - A-Level Italian (School) (✔ On File)

Tags: Bristol English teacher, Bristol Italian teacher, Bristol Beginner English teacher, Bristol Intermediate English teacher, Bristol Advanced English teacher, Bristol Expert English teacher, Bristol Beginner Italian teacher, Bristol Intermediate Italian teacher