Skip to main content

Information About Anna - Norwich teacher

Profile Picture

Anna's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Anna:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Languages Taught

Anna offers a FREE first / introductory lesson!

German

Price Guide
Beginner £15.00
Intermediate £18.00
Advanced £21.00

Personal Description:

Hi! I'm Anna, I've recently graduated in German and Philosophy and am keen to spread my passion for other languages. I'm half-German so grew up listening to German every day, and although I wasn't brought up bilingual I’ve always felt a connection with Germany and wanted to become fluent and learn more about the history, culture and politics; which is why I decided to study it at uni, and it worked! My year studying at the Freie Universität in Berlin last year has just increased my interest in the language and the country, and my work as a tutor lets me to share this with others.

I had a rigorous education in a very competitive atmosphere, and remember only too well the time and mental effort it took to prepare for exams - I remember finding the jump from GCSE to A Level especially scary. I’m efficient and well-organised and will be able to guide you through pre-exam prep, sharing revision and exam techniques that I found most useful (and least boring!), whilst branching out and increasing your interest and understanding of German beyond what the syllabus prescribes.

I can also offer you my experience of applying to a top university with an extremely good German department. I’ve been an enthusiastic member of the German society, which brings together German speakers from across the city, played saxophone in a jazz band with friends, and also had a number of radio shows on the student network. 

I'd love to hear from you - please shoot me a message and we can sort something out.

Teaching Experience:

Aside from my work as a one-on-one tutor on a few different online forums, I've always worked in and been really interested in education through lots of different means. I volunteered as a teenager to go to primary schools around Norfolk and get the kids interested in German from a young age through music and theatre, and I've done the same at university, planning lessons and thinking how to engage kids from a range of ages and abilities. I particularly love theatre, and have moved away from being a keen actor to being more involved in the production process as a stage and set designer for shows at university - I'm very used to performing for an audience under pressure and holding their attention, which I would say are two of the most crucial requirements for being a good teacher.
I'm patient, flexible and love talking to people - I'll try my best to make the tutoring experience fun for both of us!

Teaching Approach:

I grew up in a family of teachers so know how and in which ways a good tutor should prepare for one-on-one tuition. I'll start by getting a clear idea of what exactly you're finding tricky and what level you want to be / are capable of working at, and I'll mould our lessons around that. I can guarantee I have at some point had exactly the same confusions you're having, so will try my absolute hardest to get you out the other side - whether that's pronunciation, grammar, vocab, word order, exam or revision techniques, or you want to learn more about German politics, culture or history, we can work through this together!

I also really believe in immersing yourself in the language how it's actually spoken, so have a lot of suggestions in mind for German music, books, films, and slow-speaking news websites, which I found really helpful when I was doing A Levels and finals. It also makes it much more interesting and relevant than only staring at lists of vocab and grammatical rules; we'll instead get familiarised with these through their usage in tangible examples, by listening to music, reading, having conversations and playing games. I won't measure your progress by how many answers you get right or wrong or whether you can repeat a grammatical rule correctly; my main aim as a tutor is to increase your curiosity in the language and the country, and your willingness to be bold, ask questions, and give it a go.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • University of Edinburgh (2018) - German and Philosophy (First with Distinction in Spoken German) (Masters) (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Norwich German teacher, Norwich Beginner German teacher, Norwich Intermediate German teacher, Norwich Advanced German teacher