Skip to main content

Information About Allan C - Hackney teacher

Profile Picture

Allan C's profile picture

References

This is how 3 referees rated Allan C:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Languages Taught

French

Price GuideOnline Lessons
Price Guide
Advanced £20.00£18.00

German

Price GuideOnline Lessons
Price Guide
Expert £20.00£18.00

English

Price GuideOnline Lessons
Price Guide
Expert £20.00£18.00

Korean

Price GuideOnline Lessons
Price Guide
Expert £30.00£27.00

Map Location

Map for Allan C

Personal Description:

Hello! Thank you for taking the time to view my profile.

I am a British 24 year old male living in London, currently doing a PhD in the Department of Japan and Korea at the School of Oriental and African Studies (University of London).

I am not just a teacher of languages but also a keen learner, spending time daily to improve on the foreign languages I am competent in and also acquire knowledge of new languages.

Teaching Experience:

While I am not an officially certified teacher, I have gained various teaching experiences.

In 2010 I founded the Pegasus Society for Korean Studies, a group formed to teach courses in the Korean language and Korea/n-related topics. Through the Society I have taught Korean at beginner's, intermediate, and advanced levels, as well as specialised courses on Korean literature. I have studied the Korean language at the BA ('Korean') and MA ('Korean Literature') levels, and now my PhD research also demands active work with Korean language texts. I have also lived in South Korea. In the 2014-2015 academic year I was Teaching Fellow of Korean at my university, and I have taught Korean at multiple tasters, summer schools, and local school visits over the past five years. I have also taught Korean privately on a much less formal, 1:1 basis, and through all of the above experiences I have been able to interact with and adapt to different types of learner.

Although I no longer formally work with French and German, I have GCSEs and A-Levels in both languages and read French and German texts daily. I have experience teaching both of these languages on a less formal, 1:1 basis, and I have taught them to students of varying ages, especially for travel and examination preparation purposes.

English is my native and first language, and I have various experiences teaching this on a 1:1 basis, mainly for the purposes of IELTS and TOEFL examination preparation, but also general conversation practice. I am able to instruct or supplement English lessons for beginners in French, German, and Korean.

Teaching Approach:

As I am especially interested in fictional literature, I usually attempt language education through textual reading and comprehension exercises. Typically I make use of different text types that are also contemporary, 'living' texts (such as recent newspaper articles, interviews, web pages, etc). However, I am also able to adapt lessons specifically to the learner's preferred styles.

I normally bring/am prepared with at least one relevant textbook, as well as miscellaneous texts, flashcards, and other stimuli for language games. Of course, I can recommend specific texts or tailor the lessons to use specific texts and other materials.

Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • SOAS, University of London (2014) - Korean Literature (Masters) (✘ Not On File)
  • SOAS, University of London (2013) - Korean (Bachelors) (✔ On File)
  • Newcastle College (2009) - French (College) (✘ Not On File)
  • Newcastle College (2009) - German (College) (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Hackney French teacher, Hackney German teacher, Hackney English teacher, Hackney Korean teacher, Hackney Advanced French teacher, Hackney Expert German teacher, Hackney Expert English teacher, Hackney Expert Korean teacher