Skip to main content

Information About Amanda - Hackney teacher -

Profile Picture

Amanda's profile picture

References

This is how 3 referees rated Amanda:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Cooking

Price Guide
Beginner £40.00
Intermediate £40.00
Advanced £40.00

Creative Writing

Price Guide
Beginner £40.00
Intermediate £40.00

Painting

Price Guide
Beginner £40.00
Intermediate £40.00

Drawing

Price Guide
Beginner £40.00
Intermediate £40.00
Advanced £40.00

Map Location

Map for Amanda

Personal Description:

Since finishing my MA at Oxford I have worked freelance as a private tutor, a workshop leader for Growing Communities, a Development officer/workshop leader for the Secret Seed Society, an assistant designer on films, plays and fashion shoots and have collaborated with artists in their studio and on community projects. I have particularly enjoyed my work with growing communities – urban farm plots serve as outdoor classrooms where we run practical workshops with local schools. Children learn about and take part in the mechanics of organic farming, making compost, planting seeds - during these activities we talk about local, sustainable growing and the importance of organic farming. The combination of activities and information is an ideal learning environment and one that has fed into my academic tutoring.

I am currently in my final year at Goldsmiths university studying Fine Art, I work mainly in the filed of sculpture and have a diverse practice using sound, materials, respond to and work in a variety of locations as well as create stages/spaces for collaboration and conversation. In addition to my work at university I have taken classes in a broad range of subjects including pottery, jewelry, stain glass, drawing, painting and textiles and am capable of tutoring in all these areas. Making is essential to my every day life and I draw on a daily basis.

My hobbies and interests are varied. I have a love of language and reading, especially poetry. Writing is of prime importance, I hope to make it part of my professional life. I spend time reading and discussing poetry, films and plays with friends. I particularly enjoy listening to artists discuss their creative process and seek out such talks. Being outdoors; swimming, running, cycling, gardening are daily enjoyments. I have recently begun swing dancing classes, which are great fun. Every year I go walking in an unfamiliar area of Europe; camping on route. I have travelled extensively, drawn mainly to mountain ranges. I love to cook and currently run a market stall selling home made products using allotment produce. I am learning the piano again, which is joy. I am a trained diving instructor and yoga teacher and practice both regularly. Learning and thinking are ongoing passions; I have studied a variety of educational practices and continue to take an interest in pedagogical approaches.

Teaching Experience:

I have spent the last year intensively tutoring a young girl in Fine Art , she was on a foundation course that was deeply disappointing, over prescribed with students and very little contact time with tutors. We worked together on her section 10 as she was keen to make an application to Ruskin School of Art Oxford. Once her UCAS was completed I devised a bespoke, well structured programme of study for her which involved going to artists talks, exhibitions, drawing together , building up her sketch book and worked intensively on developing ideas and discussing her work. After submission of her portfolio she received an interview to the Ruskin and in the face of intense competition was successful in attaining a place on the course. I have a comprehensive testimonial from her which expresses how she experienced our work together and the 'transformational journey' she experienced as a result of our work, please ask if you would like to see this.

In addition to this student I have tutored a 70 year old woman in drawing and painting, as well as other younger learners in all forms of fine art - both the practical and conceptual side of creating and making work. My approach is consistent throughout - to attend to each student with care and attention, creating a bespoke programme of study in keeping with their interests and aligned to develop their strengths and gently work on their difficulties. My aim is to enhance learning and assist each student in developing a personal, internal resource set to enable them to be independent and autonomous in whatever learning field they wish to pursue. With seven years worth of experience and host of positive testimonials from my students , I have achieved this, however the work is ongoing and I continue to strive to enhance my sensitivity and receptivity to each student I have the fortune of working with.

I have also been running small group workshops offering Drawing classes, a structured approach to drawing working from the beginning stages to more advanced level. This is weekly class and has been running for the past six months. In addition to the above I have worked with many arts students with their various writing projects, from PHD proposals, to MA thesis , to undergraduate essays - helping students link their studio practice to the theoretical ideas they are exploring. I work to help them with structuring their written ideas in a way that sits parallel with rather than at a tangent from their practical studio activity.

I have a personal interest in pedagogies and have explored a variety, such as student led enquiry and the Montessori emphasis on experiential learning. I draw on these as and when appropriate in accordance to the needs of each student. I have a special interest in Dyslexia and Dyspraxia and have had good results working with these differing learning styles finding way to reap the benefits of both.

Teaching Approach:

All my teaching practice has shown me to be supportive and receptive, engaging with interest and personal attention to each student’s development, with an ease to adapt to differing needs and learning styles. I invest time planning sessions and conduct them in a thoughtful and patient manner, thereby enabling confidence to grow and the grasp of skills and concepts to be developed. I feel particularly well qualified to help students with dyslexia and dyspraxia. I enjoy helping students to realise the creative potential of both, assisting in their discovery of a learning practice that is both fun and enabling.

Having worked with a range of nationalities, whose first language is not English, I have learned to be patient and resourceful in my approach to learning. I have found that I need to listen in a multiple of different ways both to understand better the difficulty a foreign student might be having and what strengths they exhibit that I can use in assisting their development. Offering one to one support to these students, who often feel overwhelmed and over looked within the classroom or on postgraduate courses, has enabled them to flourish and excel. I have enjoyed being part of this process and seeing a new found joy of learning that has emerged through our work together.

I have a genuine interest in how other people learn and take great pleasure in supporting students achieve their potential. To be part of a student’s growth in confidence, understanding and enjoyment is rewarding and delightful. I see my work as an ongoing practice that is in dialogue and development with each new student I work with.

Native Language: English (British)
Additional Languages: French
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • university of Oxford (2010) - English Lit and Lang - High Pass (Masters) (✘ Not On File)
  • university of Oxford (2010) - Distinction - Anthropology and Archaeology (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
  • leithe School on Fine Art (2003) - distinction - Diploma in Painting - (Other) (✘ Not On File)
  • Byam Shaw School of Art (2002) - distinction - Foundation in Art (Other) (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Hackney Cooking teacher, Hackney Creative Writing teacher, Hackney Painting teacher, Hackney Drawing teacher, Hackney Beginner Cooking teacher, Hackney Intermediate Cooking teacher, Hackney Advanced Cooking teacher, Hackney Beginner Creative Writing teacher, Hackney Intermediate Creative Writing teacher, Hackney Beginner Painting teacher, Hackney Intermediate Painting teacher, Hackney Beginner Drawing teacher, Hackney Intermediate Drawing teacher, Hackney Advanced Drawing teacher