Skip to main content

Information About Emily - Claremont tutor

Profile Picture

Emily's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Emily:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Maths

Price Guide
Primary R 150.00
High School R 150.00

English

Price Guide
Primary R 150.00
High School R 150.00

Biology

Price Guide
High School R 150.00

Geography

Price Guide
High School R 150.00

Map Location

Personal Description:

My name is Emily and I am 20 years old. I am currently a 2nd year Business Science student at UCT.
I recently completed high school (at an IEB school in Johannesburg) achieving 6 distinctions, notably with 87% for Maths, 81% for English, 83% for Biology and 84% for Geography, so I understand what is demanded of students to achieve their desired results. I love working with students and motivating them in their school subjects, which is reflected in my ongoing work with SHAWCO at UCT, where I help tutor students in grades 1-3.
I am eager to tutor with First Tutors, as I would like to help more students reach their full potential.

Tutoring Experience:

I have done volunteer work tutoring high school children in maths and English while I was in high school (2015-2016)
I have tutored a grade 7 pupil in maths and problem solving in order to help him with the entrance exam to get into his preferred high school. (2017)
I currently volunteer teaching grades 1-3 with literacy and basic maths skills through SHAWCO at UCT (2018).
I also have 4 younger siblings at home (ranging from ages 9 to 18), who I have helped with homework and exam preparation on an ongoing basis.

Tutoring Approach:

I firmly believe that any student can be good at the subjects they take, provided that they put in the time and practice that is required of them. As I tutor, I would encourage students to do as much practice and preparation in their subjects, and I would be there to help make sense of any misunderstandings that they have, while giving them the personal attention that is not usually possible in the classroom. I would also encourage students to send me any problems they have while working on them on their own, as I believe it is valuable to address any problems as they arise.

The 6 distinctions that I received in Matric were a result of lots of hard work, especially as this was a significant improvement from what I had been previously achieving in high-school. I would be a valuable tutor as I had to grapple with the subjects that I chose, which helps me understand where other students need extra work.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: No (✘ Not On File)

Qualifications:

  • Roedean School (SA) (2016) - IEB (School) (✔ On File)

Tags: Claremont Maths tutor, Claremont English tutor, Claremont Biology tutor, Claremont Geography tutor, Claremont Primary Maths tutor, Claremont High School Maths tutor, Claremont Primary English tutor, Claremont High School English tutor, Claremont High School Biology tutor, Claremont High School Geography tutor