Skip to main content

Information About Vera - Auckland tutor

Profile Picture

Vera's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Vera:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Subjects Taught

German

Price Guide
Adult/Casual $30.00

Map Location

Personal Description:

Hi there,

My name is Vera, I am a 34 year old mom of a 7 months old little boy and I have been living in NZ for nearly 7 years.
My partner is born and bread in NZ, he speaks some German and our son is growing up bilingual.
Before I came to NZ I had finished my studies to become a Social Worker in Germany and after working for a couple of years, I decided to leave to do some travelling. I spent 2 years discovering NZ,OZ and parts of South- East- Asia and I just love getting to know different cultures and meeting new people.

Tutoring Experience:

Shortly after I moved here I started teaching German at a language school for adults in the CBD, as well as giving casual group and single lessons, just practicing " everyday conversion" in German.
When I started my OE in my mid 20s I have had more than 10 years experience in school English as my 2nd language… and reality hit me hard when I arrived in OZ, realising I couldn't have a proper casual conversation with other travellers and native speakers: I had learnt grammar and vocabulary- both of course important- but not how to just use it in real life. That was a big disappointment to me.
Since then, when I meet people learning another language, I can't emphasize enough that learning a language has to include practicing everyday conversation to be able to connect theory and practice- and therefore to really connect with another culture and people.
Apart from experience in teaching German I was as well a teacher aid ( in German,as well as in NZ) in schools for children and teenagers with special needs. I had started my degree as a teacher back in Germany, but had changed to a Social Work degree after the first 2 years.

Tutoring Approach:

I really enjoy meeting new people and showing them the joys of learning a new language, as well a specifically enjoying German as a language: I think often people have the idea that German is very hard to learn and that it sounds a bit like a type writer being kicked down a set of stairs… and it can ;) But it's as well a very soft language with a big range of words that are fun to play around with.
As my focus is largely on working with adults and practicing every day conversation, I love to focus on sharing and talking about everyday life (i.e feelings,politics, art etc.). For that I like using German magazines, read and go through articles, recommend movies and music to learn with and even sometimes cook or bake with people, as I realised that food is as well a big part of culture and it's fun learning while preparing and eating food. Last but not least the person I teach has to decide what is important to them: what do they want to learn.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: German
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: No (✘ Not On File)

Qualifications:

  • Protestant University Darmstad/ Germany (2009) - Social Work (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Auckland German tutor, Auckland Adult/Casual German tutor