Skip to main content

Information About Nina - Ennis tutor

Profile Picture

Nina's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Nina:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

ESL

Price Guide
Junior Cycle €20.00
Senior Cycle €20.00
University €20.30
Adult / Casual €20.00

Spanish

Price Guide
Junior Cycle €20.00
Senior Cycle €20.00
Adult / Casual €20.00

Map Location

Personal Description:

Ever since I was a child, I have wanted to be a teacher - just ask my friends who got sick of "playing school"! I originally studied Early Childhood Care and Education, where i became fascinated with alternative approaches to education and social, creative and active teaching methodologies. I went on to get my honours Masters in TESOL, in UL because I always wanted to travel and learn other languages. I knew this would give me the perfect opportunity to do just that.

I first went to Russia, where i worked in the kindergarten of an international school and began learning Russian. (If you are interested in learning Russian, and are starting from scratch or a basic level I can certainly help you out, but I'm still learning myself at only an intermediate level). When I returned to Ireland, I worked for many years in Limerick Language Centre, teaching people really and truly from all over the world and gaining so much insight into how important culture is in the process of language learning and teaching and how unfortunately lacking is this cultural diversity in the majority of language learning materials available.

In January 2018, I packed up my life and decided to finally follow my dream of travelling through Central and South America. Unfortunately, i never made it South (thank you Covid-19!) but I did manage to achieve one of my main goals - to become fluent in Spanish.

Being a language, culture and travel enthusiast, the one thing I love more than improving my own language skills is seeing others progress in theirs and knowing that I was a part of it. To see people go from shy and struggling language learners to confident speakers and language users is a truly beautiful thing. It genuinely makes me proud. Another thing I love about language teaching is that, as a teacher, you learn and develop A LOT. Not only in your own language skills and understanding, but also in social and interpersonal communication and relationships and personally.

I am just preparing to start up my own online ESL blog and website, it is something completely new to me so it will probably take a while but once established I hope for it to be chock-full of immersive, authentic and culturally diverse resources for language learners. Instead of endless worksheets, word lists and grammar lectures, it will present contextualised, topical and authentic language in various formats.

Aside from all of that, I am also an animal and nature lover who loves to read non-fiction, especially what I like to call true journalism, of which there is so little in this world. And I love food - too much actually!

Tutoring Experience:

A fully qualified ESL teacher with a hrs Masters in TESOL (and a hrs BA in education) who has been teaching since 2011, in Ireland and abroad (Russia and Nicaragua). My experience spans a wide age range from 1 - 60+ years and a variety of cultural backgrounds. I have taught general, conversational and academic English and helped students prepare for both the IELTS and FCE exams.

A self-taught Spanish speaker, who has just (August 2020) returned from a year and a half of travels through Mexico, Cuba and Central America, working on my fluency and building my Spanish knowledge and vocabulary through immersion. I lived in villages and small towns, working and volunteering with local communities where nobody or very few people spoke English. I even took over the running and care of a small permaculture farm in Guatemala while the owners went on holiday for 3 weeks, working together with the local indigenous staff and the vet, communicating entirely in Spanish.

I am hoping to take an exam in Spanish in the near future to provide evidence of a certified level, of which, i expect to achieve B2 OR C1 level in the CEFR - Upper Intermediate to Advanced. Though i do not hold a qualification or certificate in Spanish - i have the expertise and knowledge necessary to teach a foreign language from my qualifications and experience in ESL and I have the Spanish skills and level required to transfer those skills and expertise to Spanish teaching. I have also been poring over past leaving and junior cert exam papers to familiarise myself with the test format and language level and requirements to establish a syllabus and method of preparation for these exams.

Plus, I have the first-hand experience of actually trying to learn the language and so I know the difficulties facing learners and have plenty of tips and methods for how to tackle them. This, for me, is a very important attribute of a language teacher - first-hand experience of the challenges and frustrations of trying to learn and live in a foreign language.

Approach to Grinds:

I believe the approach depends entirely on the students needs and goals. As stated above, I have a range of teaching experience and so how I teach you will be based on what you need to achieve - conversational fluency, develop academic or literacy skills, pass an exam, improve listening, build your vocabulary, pragmatic development - very important and often overlooked!

If you get in touch, we can discuss exactly what you need.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English
Additional Languages: Irish Gaelic , Russian, Spanish
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • UL (2012) - TESOL (Masters) (✔ On File)
  • UL (2009) - Early Childhood Care and Education (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Ennis ESL tutor, Ennis Spanish tutor, Ennis Junior Cycle ESL tutor, Ennis Senior Cycle ESL tutor, Ennis University ESL tutor, Ennis Adult / Casual ESL tutor, Ennis Junior Cycle Spanish tutor, Ennis Senior Cycle Spanish tutor, Ennis Adult / Casual Spanish tutor