Skip to main content

Information About Kevin - Dublin tutor

Profile Picture

Kevin's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Kevin:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Kevin offers a discount of 25% on their first / introductory lesson!

English

Price Guide
Primary €25.00
Junior Cycle €25.00
Senior Cycle €25.00
University €25.00
Adult / Casual €25.00

Map Location

Personal Description:

Hi, my name is Kevin. I have an honours degree in English and French, a Cambridge CELTA, and a qualification in Sound Engineering. I am a patient and passionate person with a keen interest in music and mindfulness. I love meeting new people, exploring new places, and trying new things. If you would like to know more about me, please don't hesitate to ask! :)

Tutoring Experience:

I currently teach English as a Second Language in IBAT College, Dublin. Prior to this, I lived in China where I taught English to younger learners aged 4 to 16 in both public and private schools. Whilst living there, I also offered private tuition to students learning English.

Approach to Grinds:

I aim to be the enabler rather than the explainer for learners.

While explanations are important and sometimes necessary, guided learning is a useful approach for challenging learners to think for themselves rather than being spoon-fed answers. This approach is useful for all ages, but it is particularly beneficial for younger learners as it promotes discovery learning and cultivates learner autonomy, whereby learners develop confidence and independence in their own learning, and require less assistance going forward.

I am conscious that everyone learns in different ways, so developing an understanding of an individual's learning style is important initially. I am flexible and responsive to each learner's specific needs. Some people respond to visual or verbal learning, others may require a more kinaesthetic approach, while a blend of learning styles can increase engagement in learners lacking focus. I have experience in a range of teaching capacities, from private tuition and smaller groups, to larger classes of 16 students. As a result, I have developed a dynamic style that I can tailor accordingly for each person.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English
Additional Languages: French, Irish Gaelic
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (evenings)
References Available: No (✘ Not On File)

Qualifications:

  • Dublin Institute of Technology (2017) - English and French (Bachelors) (✔ On File)

Tags: Dublin English tutor, Dublin Primary English tutor, Dublin Junior Cycle English tutor, Dublin Senior Cycle English tutor, Dublin University English tutor, Dublin Adult / Casual English tutor