Skip to main content

Information About Elisabeth Anne - Balbriggan tutor

References

This is how 2 referees rated Elisabeth Anne:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

English

Price Guide
Junior Cycle €30.00
Senior Cycle €30.00
Adult / Casual €25.00

ESL

Price Guide
Junior Cycle €25.00
Senior Cycle €25.00
Adult / Casual €25.00

History

Price Guide
Junior Cycle €30.00

Essay Writing / Study Skills

Price Guide
Junior Cycle €25.00
Senior Cycle €25.00
Adult / Casual €25.00

Map Location

Personal Description:

Hi I’m a qualified experienced retired secondary school teacher. My subjects are English and History and I’ve taught all levels including exam classes. I prefer one to one classes as I have found that students respond well to this approach especially if they are shy or lack confidence regarding their grasp of the subject matter I have a background in drama so, where practical, tend to include these skills into my classes. This approach is generally effective especially as concerns the new Junior Cycle with its emphasis on oral skills and presentations and also when teaching ESL students both adults and teens by including role play in my lessons. I lived in East Africa for fifteen years and taught English in both an International and local school, so am used to working with various nationalities.
As well as the Irish Junior and Senior Cycles I also taught The International Baccalaureate to seniors and the International General Certificate in Education to juniors

Tutoring Experience:

I taught English and History to Leaving Cert, Junior Cycle and Special English in Secondary Schools in Balbriggan, Skerries and Dublin. In the late 90’s I moved to East Africa where I continued to teach English Literature in secondary schools and also English as a second language. I also taught drama to primary school age children and to teenagers. In 2000
I returned to Ireland and started working as an ESL teacher
recently I have also been teaching on line. I have given grinds in my secondary school subjects, in ESL and taught drama to teenagers . I have given my teaching qualifications below but am only allowed to add 4 . I also have an MA in modern theatre and performance (2006) UCD and certificates in Acting ( 2007) and directing for theatre. (2008) NUI Maynooth. Skills I find very useful in the medium of teaching

Approach to Grinds:

I like one to one classes as I‘ve found this the best way to get to know the student and build up a rapport. My approach to grinds is to determine with the student exactly which areas of the subject they wish to concentrate on and then as the classes continue to make my own suggestions as strengths and weaknesses become apparent. I have an office equipped with the necessary recourses including a whiteboard adjacent to my home and like to hold my classes there. However I am willing to travel locally.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • County Dublin VEC (2008) - ESOLS/ACELS (Professional) (✘ Not On File)
  • Dublin School of English (1985) - TEFL (Professional) (✘ Not On File)
  • University College Cork (1977) - Higher Diploma in Education (Other) (✘ Not On File)
  • University College Cork (1974) - Bachelor of Arts (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Balbriggan English tutor, Balbriggan ESL tutor, Balbriggan History tutor, Balbriggan Essay Writing / Study Skills tutor, Balbriggan Junior Cycle English tutor, Balbriggan Senior Cycle English tutor, Balbriggan Adult / Casual English tutor, Balbriggan Junior Cycle ESL tutor, Balbriggan Senior Cycle ESL tutor, Balbriggan Adult / Casual ESL tutor, Balbriggan Junior Cycle History tutor, Balbriggan Junior Cycle Essay Writing / Study Skills tutor, Balbriggan Senior Cycle Essay Writing / Study Skills tutor, Balbriggan Adult / Casual Essay Writing / Study Skills tutor