Skip to main content

Information About Dylan - Malahide tutor -

Profile Picture

Dylan's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Dylan:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Maths

Price Guide
Junior Cycle €25.00
Senior Cycle €25.00

Map Location

Personal Description:

Hi! My name is Dylan. I've been tutoring maths for just over 6 years with a 100% pass rate. I sat my Leaving Cert in 2017 and achieved 589 points with a H1 in Maths. I recently (2021) completed my degree in Management Science and Information Systems Studies, achieving a first class honours. As a part of my studies, I've also completed 2 years of Engineering Mathematics. I’ve also been Garda Vetted as part of the Trinity Voluntary Tutoring Programme.

Tutoring Experience:

I have given Junior Cert grinds since transition year (6+ years) and leaving Cert since 2017 (4+ years). I have a genuine passion for teaching and also took part in my university's voluntary tutoring programme.

Approach to Grinds:

Over the years I have consistently tweaked my teaching approach in an effort to always improve and give my students the best possible chance to get their desired grades. I aim to improve my students’ confidence and teach them how to understand topics rather than learn techniques off by heart, I will always try to guide them to an answer with probing questions rather than writing it out in front of them. In general I follow an explain, practise, revision approach. Explain a new topic in an engaging and open manner, have the student attempt a question, assign homework to further reinforce the topic. I encourage students to ask as many questions as possible throughout this process to ensure they are comfortable and learning well. I always have a general plan of what I intend to cover during a lesson, but also begin every one by asking the student if there is anything they found difficult or troubling in class that they would like to go through first. Since COVID-19 and moving my lessons online, this is of utmost importance to ensure my students and I are working off of the same questions. I try to keep a healthy balance of being both professional and friendly so we can get a lot of work done whilst keeping a sociable atmosphere. As well as teaching, I also try to aid my students in general study practices and have no problem spending time outside of a lesson to help them prepare a study timetable for all of their exam revision. Please don’t hesitate to contact me if you have any further queries before organising a lesson!

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English
Additional Languages: French
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

Tags: Malahide Maths tutor, Malahide Junior Cycle Maths tutor, Malahide Senior Cycle Maths tutor