Skip to main content

Information About Alan - Cork tutor

References

This is how a referee rated Alan:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

History

Price Guide
Junior Cycle €15.00
Senior Cycle €15.00
University €15.00

Politics

Price Guide
Junior Cycle €15.00
Senior Cycle €15.00
University €15.00
Adult / Casual €15.00

Philosophy

Price Guide
Junior Cycle €15.00
Senior Cycle €25.00
University €15.00
Adult / Casual €15.00

Map Location

Personal Description:

Hello my name is Alan. I am a 26 year old masters degree holder who after a period of travel is back in Cork. I have tutored undergraduate students in university on Political theory, philosophy as well as history. I am interested in playing the clarinet, exercising by going to the gym as well as managing to keep up to date on a long list o**Contact Detail Removed**s to read. I also enjoy the experience of travel having worked and lived in Taiwan as well as in Poland previously to that.

Tutoring Experience:

I taught English in Taiwan for a year as well as in Poland. In Taiwan I was responsible for teaching Kindergarten children for the most part. There I taught Maths, Science, art as well as English. It was a very interesting and rewarding experience. I also instructed the class on acting.
After a stint as a teacher in a kindergarten in Taiwan I moved to a busibann or in other words an elementary school there. The attitude required there was a compassionate and interested one. At the school I was also responsible for teaching the basic elements of English grammar and culture to some students who were a bit older and were aged 14 to 17. They had very little English for the most part and I was their vacation from the harsh and hard life of being a Taiwanese teenager. During my time as a university student I was also diligently aware of how to give tutorials, I gave private tutorials as needed to undergraduate students while I was a masters student.

Approach to Grinds:

My approach to giving grinds is first and foremost based on the ability of the student to read and comprehend the task and hand. Subsequently I aim to start at where they are, not where they were or even where they ought to be when teaching them. In that sense my aim is to give a form of tutorship designed around the needs of the individual rather than what they might actually want in a tutor. I also aim to focus on the kind of language the student uses, this is critical for just about every academic subject at every level. This is often forgotten by the process itself and by the actual overseers of every unique process.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: No (✘ Not On File)

Qualifications:

  • Tefl.org.co.uk (2018) - Tefl Certificate (Other) (✔ On File)
  • University College Cork (2017) - Master of Arts in Political theory and philosophy (Masters) (✘ Not On File)
  • University College Cork (2014) - Bachelor of Arts in history and politics (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Cork History tutor, Cork Politics tutor, Cork Philosophy tutor, Cork Junior Cycle History tutor, Cork Senior Cycle History tutor, Cork University History tutor, Cork Junior Cycle Politics tutor, Cork Senior Cycle Politics tutor, Cork University Politics tutor, Cork Adult / Casual Politics tutor, Cork Junior Cycle Philosophy tutor, Cork Senior Cycle Philosophy tutor, Cork University Philosophy tutor, Cork Adult / Casual Philosophy tutor