Skip to main content

Information About Ailbhe - Mayo tutor -

Profile Picture

Ailbhe's profile picture


This is how 2 referees rated Ailbhe:





Subjects Taught


Price Guide
Senior Cycle €30.00
University €30.00
Adult / Casual €30.00

Map Location

Personal Description:

I am a Speech and Language Therapist and also completed the Dioplóma sa Ghaeilge at the highest level (C1) with NUI Galway in 2016/2017. I am a native Irish speaker from the west of Ireland and have 7 years experience working as an instructor in an Irish summer college. During secondary school I competed in various Irish-language based events, including Gael Linn debating (entirely through Irish) at regional level for 4 years. Having obtained an A1 in my own Leaving Cert Irish and an A at Junior Cert, both at Higher Level, I have first-hand experience of what is required to achieve such grades in State Examinations. In addition, I am a native and regular speaker of Irish and strive not only to encourage academic success, but to develop a confidence in a student's ability to both speak and write the language. I am hard-working and enthusiastic and at the heart of all my teaching is the desire to enable any student to achieve the goals they set out for themselves, whether they be a Leaving Cert student who wants a H1 grade or an adult learner looking to improve their beginner or intermediate level Irish. I am available for grinds online at present.

Tutoring Experience:

As an instructor in a summer Irish college for the past 7 years I have extensive experience working with teenagers aged 11-18 in developing their oral Irish. I have also given grinds locally to Leaving and Junior Cert students for the past 3 years, since I completed secondary school.
In my role as a Speech and Language Therapist I work with clients of all ages to reach their full potential.
I have worked with many adult learners in preparation for job interviews, passing university Irish exams, preparing for interviews for Hibernia with 100% success rate, for TEG exams and so on. In addition to this, I have been teaching piano to children aged 4+ for 5 years, so I have teaching experience across a wide variety of age groups.

Approach to Grinds:

I work to set out and achieve specific goals that are individual to each student - I am very much of the belief that grinds tuition should be student-led, and I am happy to focus on any or all aspects of the language depending on where the students' strengths and weaknesses lie. I have comprehensive notes on the courses for the State Exams, and I would also hope to work alongside the student in developing their own individual notes. Personally, I would aim to encourage competency and confidence in the use of the language as opposed to rote learning overall, but again this is entirely up to the student themselves in terms of the approach they would like to take in order to achieve their goals. I am willing to be flexible with times and arrangements as I understand that students have many other commitments and I have no problem with either fixed regular sessions or occasional lessons depending on how the student themselves felt they were progressing.
For Leaving & Junior Cert students, grinds sessions will cover any/all of the following areas: oral fluency, aural work (using past exam papers & additional resources such as RnaG/TG4), essay writing including debate/speech writing, reading comprehension, studied texts and intensive work on grammar, sentence structure and vocab. Full notes and resources will be provided.
In the case of online grinds, I usually prefer to use a combination of Skype and Google Docs, and feedback and explanation of topics covered in the session is then provided in a concise word document for the student's own learning.
I am always open to hearing suggestions from students on how they feel they learn best, and am willing to be flexible in my teaching methods to accommodate this.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English
Additional Languages: Irish Gaelic
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)


  • Ollscoil na hÉireann, Gaillimh (2017) - C1 Dioploma sa Ghaeilge (College) (✘ Not On File)
  • Coláiste Pobail Acla (2015) - A1 Leaving Cert Irish HL (School) (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Mayo Gaelic tutor, Mayo Senior Cycle Gaelic tutor, Mayo University Gaelic tutor, Mayo Adult / Casual Gaelic tutor