Skip to main content
Need a helping hand? Call now to speak to an academic advisor: +1 888-448-0296
Call now to speak to an advisor: +1 888-448-0296

Information About Vanessa

Toronto tutor
 

Personal Description:

My name is Vanessa. I am currently a Mathematics and Economics major at the University of Toronto. While that is my area of expertise at the moment, I also have a deep understanding of Biology, Geography, and English. I studied these at a higher level in the International Baccalaureate program IB. I am located in Downtown Toronto for those wishing to have a physical one-on-one session. However, for those wishing to have an online tutoring session, the location will not matter.

Tutoring Experience:

Throughout high school, I would tutor my peers who were struggling to grasp difficult concepts, especially in Mathematics and Sciences. The people that I have assisted have commented that I am able to break down concepts in a simple and systematic way, that is different from their experience in class.
I have also taught in elementary and primary schools in Science, English, and Mathematics for one year. I understand the patience required to handle younger students and I am flexible in terms of the content covered per session when it comes to the younger students.

Tutoring Approach:

My method of tutoring includes coming up with analogies to allow understanding and remembering the big picture of a concept. I encourage those I tutor, regardless of the age category, to use the analogies to remember the analogies as they are incredibly useful when the content starts to pile up.
I tend to be very conversational when teaching. This means that I will ask my students many questions when starting a session so that I am building on what they already know. This way I ensure that I am not repeating ideas that they already know and that I am not assuming knowledge that they may not have grasped yet.
When it comes to learning English, Swahili or French, I will use mnemonics to make the grammar rules manageable, but will mostly be oral exercises. In addition, I will recommend songs that have the themes learned. In my experience of learning languages, and teaching others, it is most effective when the process is enjoyable.
Overall, my approach to tutoring stems from "what I wish my teachers/ professors did"

Show More

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English
Additional Languages: Swahili
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: No (✘ Not On File)

Qualifications:

  • University of Toronto, St. George (2019) - B.A Economics (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
  • International School of Kenya (2017) - IB Diploma graduate (School) (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Toronto Math tutor, Toronto English tutor, Toronto Biology tutor, Toronto ESL tutor, Toronto Economics tutor, Toronto Early Development Math tutor, Toronto Elementary Math tutor, Toronto Secondary Math tutor, Toronto College / University Math tutor, Toronto Casual Math tutor, Toronto Early Development English tutor, Toronto Elementary English tutor, Toronto Secondary English tutor, Toronto Early Development Biology tutor, Toronto Elementary Biology tutor, Toronto Secondary Biology tutor, Toronto Casual Biology tutor, Toronto Early Development ESL tutor, Toronto Elementary ESL tutor, Toronto Secondary ESL tutor, Toronto College / University ESL tutor, Toronto Casual ESL tutor, Toronto Elementary Economics tutor, Toronto Secondary Economics tutor, Toronto Casual Economics tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor:
+1 888 448 0296
Call Now