Skip to main content
Need a helping hand? Call now to speak to an academic advisor: +1 888-448-0296
Call now to speak to an advisor: +1 888-448-0296

Award-Winning Test Prep & Academic Tutoring

Personalized Learning · Professional Tutoring

150,000+ clients. 4.9 / 5.0 Rating of Tutoring Sessions

Who needs a tutor?
What grade level?
How soon do you need tutoring?
What is your name?
What is your post code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?

Thank you. We will call you shortly.

Information About Orlando

Montreal tutor
 

References

This is how 2 referees rated Orlando:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Map Location

Personal Description:

I am a recent graduate from McGill University, where I obtained a Bachelors in Mechanical Engineering with a Minor Concentration in Philosophy (I graduated on the Dean's list with a 3.92/4.00 GPA). Through this multidisciplinary course of study, I have encountered varied forms of knowledge, of learning, and of teaching. My studies have provided me with a very solid background in mathematics, physics, and in various strands of philosophy and social theory. I have extensive experience with various forms of school work, from essay writing to critical reading to analytical problem solving. I am passionate about many subjects, and I deeply appreciate helping other students find joy and confidence in learning.

I am Italian but I was born and raised in Paris, as such I am fluent in both French and Italian. I attended an international high school (École Jeannine Manuel), where I obtained a Baccalauréat Scientifique avec Option Internationale (with a final grade of 18.72/20). I became fluent in English through my high school and then by studying at McGill University. I have DELE B2 certification in Spanish, which attests to an upper intermediate knowledge of the language.

Tutoring Experience:

In the spring of 2020, I volunteered in a community centre in the Plateau (CASCM) working with children ages 6 to 12. I had a socio-pedagogical role, which consisted in helping children with their homework, as well as providing support with self-esteem issues and more simply playing games with the children. I really appreciated interacting with the children, understanding where they were coming from, and providing support and assistance.

More informally, I have consistently tutored my classmates with schoolwork, from high school to university. I have always been very invested in helping others understand concepts that they have a hard time grappling with, and in helping them express their ideas and their understanding. I have spent long hours listening to my classmates, working through problems with them, and editing essays and papers.

I am aware that my formal tutoring/teaching experience is as of yet limited, but I truly believe that in my ability to be a useful, supportive, and engaging tutor. I care about the people I tutor, and my only goal is for them to have more clarity and confidence.

Tutoring Approach:

I think the starting point of my approach to tutoring is that I am passionate about learning, and I am keenly aware of how exciting and transformative education can be. But every person has their own logic, their own way of making sense of problems, and it can be incredibly frustrating and harmful when educators don't reckon with these varied approaches to understanding. It can lead students to feel that some problems are beyond their understanding, to doubt their intellectual capabilities, and to limit the scope of their interests and passions.

I am interested in listening to students and to engage with their own framework, in order to identify the knots that are causing them confusion and then to work through them together. Because I have spent a long time engaging with the subject matters I teach, I feel capable of understanding the questions and obstacles that they may cause, and to adopt the teaching methods most appropriate to each student's needs.

Show More

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: French
Additional Languages: English (American), Italian
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • McGill University (2020) - Honours Mechanical Engineering, with a Minor Concentration in Philosophy (Bachelors) (✔ On File)
  • École Jeannine Manuel (2015) - Baccalauréat Scientifique Option Internationale (School) (✔ On File)

Tags: Montreal Math tutor, Montreal English tutor, Montreal French tutor, Montreal Italian tutor, Montreal Social Science tutor, Montreal Study Skills / Essay Writing tutor, Montreal Elementary Math tutor, Montreal Secondary Math tutor, Montreal College / University Math tutor, Montreal Casual Math tutor, Montreal Elementary English tutor, Montreal Secondary English tutor, Montreal Casual English tutor, Montreal Elementary French tutor, Montreal Secondary French tutor, Montreal College / University French tutor, Montreal Casual French tutor, Montreal Elementary Italian tutor, Montreal Secondary Italian tutor, Montreal Casual Italian tutor, Montreal Elementary Social Science tutor, Montreal Secondary Social Science tutor, Montreal College / University Social Science tutor, Montreal Casual Social Science tutor, Montreal Elementary Study Skills / Essay Writing tutor, Montreal Secondary Study Skills / Essay Writing tutor, Montreal College / University Study Skills / Essay Writing tutor, Montreal Casual Study Skills / Essay Writing tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor:
+1 888 448 0296
Call Now