Skip to main content

Information About Monica - Toronto tutor

Profile Picture

Monica's profile picture

References

This is how a referee rated Monica:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

English

Price Guide
Early Development $20.00
Elementary $30.00
Secondary $40.00
Casual $40.00

Biology

Price Guide
Early Development $30.00
Elementary $40.00
Secondary $40.00

Study Skills / Essay Writing

Price Guide
Early Development $30.00
Elementary $40.00
Secondary $40.00
College / University $40.00
Casual $40.00

Personal Description:

Hi! My name is Monica and I am 22 years old, living in Toronto, and working part time as a tutor. I went to Branksome Hall in Toronto for high-school where I received my IB diploma, with high grades in all subjects including English and Biology. I have a Bachelors degree in Biomedical Science from Newcastle University in the UK, and a Master's in Science specialising in Immunology (a Biomedical field), from King's College London also in the UK. I am now back in Toronto for the 2018/2019 academic year whilst I apply for Medical school.

Tutoring Experience:

I worked as a peer tutor throughout my academic career from Grade 6 all the way through university. I have a sibling with severe ADHD whom I work with daily as an executive functioning and organisational/study skills tutor. Having been through the IB diploma program, I have specialised knowledge of the requirements of IB courses, most especially HL English Language and Literature, and HL Biology, but I am also familiar with the standard Ontario curriculum. My science degrees were rigorous and required excellent communication and presentation skills - which I believe to be the key to good tutoring.

Tutoring Approach:

I have a personalised approach to each individual whom I tutor. I enjoy getting to know my tutees and understanding the way they learn best and what areas of executive functioning they may need help with on top of academic support - often study skills and approaches to learning can be effective tutoring components even in those students without ADD/ADHD. I enjoy providing different ways to study the same material in order to make things fun and exciting - and I am extremely passionate about both english and science! If the tutee does have ADD, ADHD or other attention or learning deficits, I aim to take time or even a whole session to plan the students days or weeks ahead, set up goals and strategies, and help them to put forward work they are proud of. During academic sessions with these students, I take frequent short breaks, and I encourage a change of topic or distraction for a few minutes at intervals throughout the session in order to maintain focus. Please call or email for any further explanations or if you'd like to discuss a tutee's specific needs.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: No (✘ Not On File)

Qualifications:

  • King's College London (UK) (2018) - MSc Medical Science in Immunology (Masters) (✘ Not On File)
  • Newcastle University (UK) (2017) - BSc Biomedical Science (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
  • Branksome Hall (Toronto) (2014) - IB Diploma (School) (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Toronto English tutor, Toronto Biology tutor, Toronto Study Skills / Essay Writing tutor, Toronto Early Development English tutor, Toronto Elementary English tutor, Toronto Secondary English tutor, Toronto Casual English tutor, Toronto Early Development Biology tutor, Toronto Elementary Biology tutor, Toronto Secondary Biology tutor, Toronto Early Development Study Skills / Essay Writing tutor, Toronto Elementary Study Skills / Essay Writing tutor, Toronto Secondary Study Skills / Essay Writing tutor, Toronto College / University Study Skills / Essay Writing tutor, Toronto Casual Study Skills / Essay Writing tutor