Skip to main content

Information About Matthew - London tutor -

References

This is how 2 referees rated Matthew:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

English

Price Guide
Secondary $20.00
College / University $20.00
Casual $20.00

Study Skills / Essay Writing

Price Guide
Secondary $20.00
College / University $20.00
Casual $20.00

Map Location

Personal Description:

I have earned a Master’s Degree in English and Writing Studies, a Bachelor’s Degree (Honours Specialization) in Creative Writing and English Language and Literature, a Minor in Classical Studies and Ancient Civilizations, and I’m just shy of a Minor in Conceptual Astronomy. Aside from my glaring interests in writing, reading, the ancients, and the Universe, I am a fierce advocate of global human and environmental rights. Additionally, my more casual passions include golfing, hockey, science fiction, primitive survival, deductive reasoning, and CNN (Don Lemon, Chris Cuomo, Erin Burnett, and Jake Tapper are my favourite anchors).

I am presently an online freelance writer, editor, and educator in general, but I aspire to teach creative writing or English at the university or college level in the imminent future.

Tutoring Experience:

Master of Arts: English and Writing Studies (2016 – 2017)
Western University, London, ON
• Certificate in University Teaching and Learning
• Advanced Teaching Program Certificate
• Completion of Teaching Mentor Program
• Teaching Assistant Training Program Certificate

OneClass: Online Tutor, Editor, English and Writing Subject Expert (2017)
• Provided extensive editing and writing feedback on student essays and assignments
• Provided additional research, advice, and answers to follow-up inquiries as needed

Teaching Assistant (2016 – 2017)
• Scrutinized and provided feedback on all proposed assignments, quizzes, and exams
• Graded 50% of all assignments, quizzes, and exams
• Consulted with students during weekly office hours, after class, and via email
• Suggested the use of a course online forum, posted weekly questions on forum
• Encouraged students to submit their essays for publication (with great success)
• 4 Nominations for Graduate Student Teaching Assistant Award

Tutoring Approach:

Since graduating from Western University in the summer of 2017, I have focused on freelance
writing, editing, and tutoring to further heighten my skills before pursuing a formal career in
education. After writing for several different clients on a daily basis, I have ascertained how to
complete assignments quickly, effectively, and in-line with expectations which have been
outlined beforehand. While editing and tutoring, I have learned to ask clients precisely what type
of feedback is desired at the outset so that it can be combined with my natural approaches and
instincts.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English (American)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: No (✘ Not On File)

Qualifications:

  • Western University (2017) - English and Writing (Masters) (✘ Not On File)

Tags: London English tutor, London Study Skills / Essay Writing tutor, London Secondary English tutor, London College / University English tutor, London Casual English tutor, London Secondary Study Skills / Essay Writing tutor, London College / University Study Skills / Essay Writing tutor, London Casual Study Skills / Essay Writing tutor