Skip to main content
Need a helping hand? Call now to speak to an academic advisor: +1 888-448-0296
Call now to speak to an advisor: +1 888-448-0296

Award-Winning Test Prep & Academic Tutoring

Personalized Learning · Professional Tutoring

150,000+ clients. 4.9 / 5.0 Rating of Tutoring Sessions

Who needs a tutor?
What grade level?
How soon do you need tutoring?
What is your name?
What is your post code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?

Thank you. We will call you shortly.

Information About Lorena

Waterloo tutor
 

Personal Description:

My name is Lorena. I graduated in the spring of 2020 from the University of Waterloo with a degree in French (French Teaching Specialization) and a minor in History. I'm passionate about French and about learning in general, and I spent eight months living in Nantes, France, in my 3rd year, where I was able to solidify my oral French skills. In my spare time, I enjoy reading, long talks with friends, biking, rock climbing and playing basketball. I'm excited to get to know you and work on learning together!

Tutoring Experience:

I have been a camp counsellor (include in a virtual format in Summer 2020) and worked in Outdoor Education for the past five years at a summer camp in Southern Ontario, including designing and implementing the high school leadership program. Through this experience I have developed an engaging teaching style and am able to maintain the interests of kids during their learning process. I have also volunteered in an after-school tutoring program run out of a local community centre, where I was able to help elementary age kids with a wide variety of subjects. Over my undergraduate degree, I have volunteered at schools each term since my first year, including while living in France, where I was able to assist with teachers in classroom environments and work one-on-one with students. In university, I volunteered for one year in one of the advising offices, where one of my roles included success coaching with struggling students, where we would make study plans and work together to meet academic goals. In my fourth year I was a Teaching Assistant for an intermediate French course. My focus in that role was improving the conversational French and confidence of the students, which included assessing presentation skills.

Tutoring Approach:

My approach is flexible. Depending on a student's needs, I will take a different approach. However, my first priority is that the student is understanding the material provided to them by the school. Working with the student to ensure that they have an understanding of the content is my first priority. I would use exercises, further instruction, examples, and patience to achieve this goal. In terms of French specifically, comfort in the language is something I would also strive for. I would work with the student to use French whenever possible and to achieve the confidence needed to communicate in a foreign language. I think incorporating games and making learning fun is extremely important, and would work with the student to try new activities that help them grow, while also ensuring they are absorbing the challenging content.

Show More

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English (American)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: No (✘ Not On File)

Qualifications:

  • University of Waterloo (2020) - BA - Honours French - French Teaching Specialization - History Minor (With Distinction - Dean's Honours List) (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Waterloo French tutor, Waterloo History tutor, Waterloo Study Skills / Essay Writing tutor, Waterloo Early Development French tutor, Waterloo Elementary French tutor, Waterloo Secondary French tutor, Waterloo Elementary History tutor, Waterloo Secondary History tutor, Waterloo Elementary Study Skills / Essay Writing tutor, Waterloo Secondary Study Skills / Essay Writing tutor

Call us today to connect with a top tutor:
+1 888 448 0296
Call Now