Skip to main content

Information About Jessica - Saanich tutor

Profile Picture

Jessica's profile picture

Subjects Taught

History

Price Guide
Early Development $12.00
Elementary $12.00
Secondary $12.00
College / University $12.00
Casual $12.00

Study Skills / Essay Writing

Price Guide
Elementary $12.00
Secondary $12.00

Map Location

Personal Description:

I have just completed my degree in philosophy and history, and I am taking a few years off before going to grad school for my PHD in Philosophy. I have two ideas of what I want to achieve in my life, either to teach philosophy or to write children's fantasy stories. If I get my way I will do both.

Apart from my academic life I spend most of my time social dancing. There is a wonderful community of people in Victoria who do salsa, swing, blues, ballroom (waltz, foxtrot, etc) with whom I spend most of my time. They are amazing, motivated and passionate people who I am very lucky to call my friends as well.

Apart from that I garden, cook, and try to learn as much as possible from the people around me.

Tutoring Experience:

I do not have any professional teaching experience, it's up to you to give me a first chance.

I have once accompanied one of my teachers for her 'logic in highschool' program. The students listened to a radio show on global warming and then we discussed use in the show.

I also teach my friends whatever I am currently learning and they do so in return.

I was home-schooled as a child and as such am sympathetic to homeschooling and somewhat familiar with curriculum.

Tutoring Approach:

I would first acquire a lesson plan or course syllabus, preferably from the parent but if not from library or internet resources. Having thoroughly reviewed the material I would then approach the student, explain to them what we were going to do and discuss with them how to best approach it. I would like to involve them in the learning process as much as possible. My ideal situation would be to have them prep the material before hand and then discuss it with them, but if that was challenging to them I would have them read to me or I to them and then we would discuss the material after learning it. I am also open to other approaches as desired.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English (American)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: No (✘ Not On File)

Qualifications:

  • University of Victoria (2012) - BA History and Philosophy (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
  • Belmont Senior Secondary (2006) - Highschool Diploma (School) (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Saanich History tutor, Saanich Study Skills / Essay Writing tutor, Saanich Early Development History tutor, Saanich Elementary History tutor, Saanich Secondary History tutor, Saanich College / University History tutor, Saanich Casual History tutor, Saanich Elementary Study Skills / Essay Writing tutor, Saanich Secondary Study Skills / Essay Writing tutor