Skip to main content

Information About Amy - Aurora tutor

Profile Picture

Amy's profile picture

References

This is how 3 referees rated Amy:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

Math

Price GuideOnline Lessons
Price Guide
Early Development $35.00$31.50
Elementary $40.00$36.00
Secondary $45.00$40.50

Chemistry

Price GuideOnline Lessons
Price Guide
Elementary $40.00$36.00
Secondary $40.00$36.00

Chinese

Price GuideOnline Lessons
Price Guide
Elementary $40.00$36.00
Secondary $40.00$36.00
Casual $40.00$36.00

ESL

Price GuideOnline Lessons
Price Guide
Elementary $40.00$36.00
Secondary $45.00$40.50

Map Location

Personal Description:

goals!
I am Amy, a 20 year-old female with a true passion for mathematics and science. I am currently pursuing a Bachelor's degree of Electrical Engineering at the University of Waterloo, but I will be doing my co-op as an electrical designer in downtown Toronto from September 2018 to September 2019.
People around me see me as an accountable friend who constantly thinks before acting and guarantees that tasks assigned to me are done well. Developing learning strategies has been one of my habits (or hobbies) since high school; because of that, I had been the president of Math Mentor Club and ESL Tutor Organisation in my high school for two consecutive years and the academic advisor in my university. Also because of that, I managed to maintain an overall average of 95+ throughout four years of high school and an 80+ average in the current engineering program.
Math, physics and chemistry are my strongest courses. I have competed in over 30 national math competitions in high school (and attended all of the math contests held by the University of Waterloo), acquired 19 certification of extinction and 5 golds. As for languages, I am able to tutor in both English and Mandarin fluently.
I prefer one-to-one tutoring and enjoy engaging in my students with fun and challenging problems which can be applicable to both school and life. Please contact me about any questions you may have! I am looking forward to working with you or your kids to reaching your test score goals!

Tutoring Experience:

Elementary School Math Mentor: 1 year
High School Math Curriculum Mentor: 3 years
High School Math Competition Preparation: 2 years
ESL Mentor: 3 years

Tutoring Approach:

1. Starting quiz to see the student's level;
2. Understand the student's goal to customise approach;
3. If Math/Science Curriculum Study:
I) Outline: go over the big ideas and most important contexts
II) Breakdown: detail explanation of theories / proofs
III) Real-life examples: explain the use of the materials that we're going to learn before starting
IV) Practice: practice problems from easy to challenging
4. If Math Competition:
I) Understand the weakest math topics
II) Focus on strategics learning and problem solve for only one math topic in each session
5. If ESL/Chinese/IELTS:
I) Understand the weak area and design plans for listening, speaking, reading and writing from there.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: Chinese
Additional Languages: English (American)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • Univeristy of Waterloo (2018) - Electrical Engineering (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Aurora Math tutor, Aurora Chemistry tutor, Aurora Chinese tutor, Aurora ESL tutor, Aurora Early Development Math tutor, Aurora Elementary Math tutor, Aurora Secondary Math tutor, Aurora Elementary Chemistry tutor, Aurora Secondary Chemistry tutor, Aurora Elementary Chinese tutor, Aurora Secondary Chinese tutor, Aurora Casual Chinese tutor, Aurora Elementary ESL tutor, Aurora Secondary ESL tutor