Skip to main content

Information About Aj - Vancouver tutor

Profile Picture

Aj's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Aj:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

English

Price Guide
Secondary $50.00
College / University $50.00
Casual $50.00

Map Location

Personal Description:

Hi there. My name is AJ, I'm 31, and I'm from a town called Sligo in Ireland.
I'm a happy-go-lucky individual with a huge zest for life.
My three biggest passions are the gym, travelling, and teaching. I'm also a big foodie, which is something that has grown massively over the years as I have learned quite a lot about different food from many different cultures through my students.
I've also travelled quite a bit. I've been to 15 different countries in Europe, and have visited many cities and regions. Now in Canada, my first time outside of Europe, I'm excited to see what this part of the world has to offer.
I have a very fun personality and I'm always smiling. My life is one big adventure.

Tutoring Experience:

I'm an English language teacher and IELTS preparation specialist.

I've been teaching English for six and a half years and I have a strong enthusiasm and passion for it. I absolutely love it.
I have received 100% positive feedback from all former and current students.
I currently teach at a language school in Vancouver called ILAC, and there I prepare students for the IELTS exam. Recently, three of my students took the exam. One student had classes with me for only three weeks. When she began classes with me she told me she needed a band 6.5. She was nowhere near this band when she began, but with my classes and her hard work in three weeks, she managed to not only get the band she needed, but a full band more - 7.5.

Another student who attended my classes for only four weeks had aimed to achieve band 6.5, which was quite a challenge as he was only at band 4.5/5 when he arrived.
Nonetheless, he sat the exam after four weeks and ended up getting band 7 - half a band higher than he needed in just four weeks.

The average progress of IELTS students in general is half a band every three months - my students achieved four to five times this amount in just a few short weeks.

Not only do I prepare students for exams such as IELTS, CAE, FCE and TOEFL, I also teach general English. I have had many students for general English in the past, and each one saw a very high level of progress in a short space of time.

My experience and passion for teaching show in my lessons, and due to this, all of my students - past and present, progress very speedily.

Tutoring Approach:

I am extremely passionate about teaching English, and this shows in all of my lessons.

My lessons are always fun and interesting. You will never be bored - you will be talking and laughing at the same time, whilst still improving your English.

I can guarantee that with me as your teacher, you will thoroughly enjoy my lessons, and you will start improving your English quite rapidly from the very first lesson.

I will tailor the lessons to your specific needs - if you want to improve your speaking, we'll focus a lot on that whilst at the same time improving your confidence.

If you want to improve your grammar, I'll go through everything in detail and won't we move on until you have fully understood what has been covered.

I always explain everything in detail, and I use example sentences a lot in order for you to understand.

One major thing is that I always use correction techniques when you make a mistake whilst speaking.
I will use them in a fun way that you will quickly pick up on the mistake and avoid making it again.

Sound good? Then why wait! Get in touch with me and book your first lesson now! :D

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • Bridge Mills Galway Language Centre, Galway, Ireland (2012) - CELT - Certificate in English Language Teaching (Other) (✔ On File)
  • GMIT Galway, Ireland (2010) - Business (Honours) (Bachelors) (✔ On File)
  • GMIT Galway, Ireland (2009) - Business and Marketing (Ordinary) (Bachelors) (✘ Not On File)
  • IT Sligo, Sligo, Ireland (2006) - Higher Certificate of Marketing and Languages (College) (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Vancouver English tutor, Vancouver Secondary English tutor, Vancouver College / University English tutor, Vancouver Casual English tutor