Skip to main content

Information about Till - Ascot tutor

Profile Picture

Till's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Till:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Tutored

English

Price Guide
College $45.00
University $45.00
Casual $45.00

ESL

Price Guide
College $45.00
University $45.00
Casual $45.00

Map Location

Personal Description:

I am an author and educator, with a love of the English language and a passion for teaching it to others. Or teaching just about anything that I happen to have sufficient knowledge of. As a dedicated polymath I also believe that it is incredibly important to have as broad a knowledge base as possible; in order to make informed decisions about the world and one's life.
I was born in Germany and spent over four years of my life until the age of twenty in Spain, before emigrating to Australia on my own and forging a new life there. English has long become my de-facto first language. I have written more than a million words in English fiction, and maybe even more during my technical writing roles. I think in English, dream in English, and for me it #1! Followed by Spanish and—though I don't speak it very well at all—Japanese.
I'm married, with two grown-up daughters and two not-so-grown-up grandchildren. For the moment my wife and I live in Brisbane, Australia. That may or may not change. We have moved around the world a lot and will probably continue to do so.

Tuition Experience:

During my professional life I have been involved in teaching in a variety of contexts for over thirty years.
These include high-school relief-teaching; VET training, especially in the Work Health & Safety space; delivering high level Polytech courses; educating corporate clients, including doctors and other hospital and research personnel; guiding eco-tours and educating customers in conversation matters; designing training materials for utilities and resource industries; as well as training employees of a Japanese subsidiary of a major multinational corporation.

Tutoring Approach:

My approach varies, especially when it comes to ESL teaching, because expectations vary widely among students of different cultural background. Ultimately though, I will try my best to guide them to a way of learning that is cooperative, with the teacher acting as a guide and facilitator of learning, with the ultimate goal of empowering them to take their lives into their own hands, as much as this is possible.
I have a background in Cognitive Science (a interdisciplinary mix of psychology, computation and neuroscience) and therefore will assess the most effective way to connect diverse individuals to 'knowledge'; a habit of effective and critical thinking; creativity; a capability for self-assessment; getting the best out of oneself; as well as the intricacies and power of the English language.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: No (✘ Not On File)

Qualifications:

  • TAFE, Brisbane, AUS (2018) - TESOL Diploma (Other) (✘ Not On File)
  • Inspire Education, AUS (2012) - TAE 40110 Cert IV + TAELLN411 (Other) (✘ Not On File)
  • University of Otago, NZ (1993) - M.Sc (Cognitive Science) (Masters) (✘ Not On File)
  • University of Otago, NZ (1981) - M.Sc. (Physics) (Masters) (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Ascot English tutor, Ascot ESL tutor, Ascot College English tutor, Ascot University English tutor, Ascot Casual English tutor, Ascot College ESL tutor, Ascot University ESL tutor, Ascot Casual ESL tutor