Skip to main content

Information about Matthew - Kew tutor -

Profile Picture

Matthew's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Matthew:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Tutored

Maths

Price GuideOnline Lessons
Price Guide
Primary $55.00$44.00

English

Price GuideOnline Lessons
Price Guide
Primary $55.00$44.00

ESL

Price GuideOnline Lessons
Price Guide
Primary $55.00$44.00
Casual $50.00$40.00

Science

Price GuideOnline Lessons
Price Guide
Primary $55.00$44.00

Map Location

Map for Matthew

Personal Description:

I am a easy going, fully qualified Primary School teacher with over 4 years of professional experience. In addition to this, I have been tutoring for 18 months and I am currently working as a casual relief teacher while trying other opportunities to add to my repertoire of skills (Permaculture course and playing music).

I exceptional experience in teaching Mathematics, Literacy and Science, up to early secondary levels. I taught for two and a half years at an Internationally accredited Primary School who had a French Section Elective, where I taught the Australian Curriculum component whilst collaborating with my colleagues to provide a well rounded curriculum that did not double up.
Following this I worked in 5/6 at Moorabbin Primary school before embarking on life as a Casual Relief Teacher, also finding time to travel and work in Europe.

Tuition Experience:

Since Graduating at the end of 2013, I have had over 4 years of full-time teaching experience, in addition to the Casual relief experience I have had this year. The have had full-time experience working with composite classes of years 1/2 and 5/6, though as I have been working as a relief teacher this year and last, I have extensive experience teaching all year levels across all subject areas.

I have a great deal of experience in working with students who speak English as a Second Language and I have a Teaching English as a Foreign Language qualification to assist with this.

I have experience in administering, collating and analysing assessments to drive the learning of my students and I am happy and willing to collaborate with my students' teacher, to identify and tailor the learning to specific areas for my students to build on their understanding (with permission of the family of course).

Tutoring Approach:

When I teach or tutor, I create a positive and secure learning environment by establishing a student centred, positive classroom culture, where students are encouraged to develop their own expectations and goals. I work with an emphasis on restorative practices in combination with empathetic and compassionate teaching strategies.

I deliberately take time to engage in impromptu learning conferences with my students and establish positive professional relationships with my students, to better understand their interests and how they respond to my teaching methods. I use these opportunities to then tailor my teaching to cater for students’ needs. Relating to my students unlocks many more teaching and learning opportunities for students and provides a positive learning environment and classroom culture that promotes individuality and respect for others.

I aim to provide a student centred learning experience that is tailored to my student's needs. I have my own resources that I am more than willing to share with my students also.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English
Availability: Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • The TEFL Academy (2017) - Teaching English as a Foreign Language (TEFL) cert. (Other) (✘ Not On File)
  • Monash University (2013) - Bachelor of Primary Education (Bachelors) (✔ On File)

Tags: Kew Maths tutor, Kew English tutor, Kew ESL tutor, Kew Science tutor, Kew Primary Maths tutor, Kew Primary English tutor, Kew Primary ESL tutor, Kew Casual ESL tutor, Kew Primary Science tutor