Skip to main content

Information about Jothsna - Berwick tutor -

Profile Picture

Jothsna's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Jothsna:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Tutored

Maths

Price GuideOnline Lessons
Price Guide
Primary $40.00$38.00
Casual $50.00$47.50

English

Price GuideOnline Lessons
Price Guide
Primary $40.00$38.00
High School $50.00$47.50
Casual $50.00$47.50

Science

Price GuideOnline Lessons
Price Guide
Primary $45.00$42.75
Casual $50.00$47.50

Study Skills / Essay Writing

Price GuideOnline Lessons
Price Guide
Primary $50.00$47.50
University $60.00$57.00
Casual $60.00$57.00

Map Location

Map for Jothsna

Personal Description:

Hello! My name is Jothsna. I am essentially a primary school teacher, but have varied interests. Prior to completing my studies in primary school teaching, I was a scientist, having done some research in infectious diseases. During my Masters in Infectious Diseases, I wrote a thesis, which has been published. I've also done some research and writing throughout my MTeach program. Whilst I loved working in science, I found that teaching was my calling, and enjoy the challenge of identifying the strengths and weaknesses of each of my students and tailoring my teaching methods to suit their needs, thus developing a rapport and connection with my students.

Tuition Experience:

Throughout my tertiary studies, I have done private tuition. I have taught mostly primary school aged students, where the focus has often been on English, mathematics and science. I have also worked with students with special learning needs, where the focus has been on basic literacy and numeracy skills. Whilst pursuing my teaching degree, I completed two school placements (Grade 2 and Grade 6), as well as an Internship (Grade 5). These placements gave me an opportunity to observe the school environment closely, with specific focus on the new Australian Curriculum. As such, I now focus on tailoring my tutoring to match the Australian Curriculum Standards, which allows students to have a more streamlined experience in their learning, with clear goals aligned to their school work.
For higher grades, as well as at tertiary levels, I have informally assisted many students with essays, assignment proof reading and thesis editing. As such, my skills at the secondary and tertiary level are also sound.

Tutoring Approach:

My personal belief is that every student learns differently, where certain techniques work to help them, and others do not. I have found that the greatest challenge in teaching is to understand a student's strengths and weaknesses and find innovative and new methods of teaching them concepts. This not only allows students to understand how they learn, but also helps them develop confidence in their skills and abilities.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: Tamil
Additional Languages: English
Availability: Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • Griffith University (2016) - MTeach (Masters) (✔ On File)
  • University of Western Australia (2012) - MSc (Infectious Diseases) (Masters) (✔ On File)
  • University of Western Australia (2010) - BSc (Biomedical Sciences) (Bachelors) (✔ On File)

Tags: Berwick Maths tutor, Berwick English tutor, Berwick Science tutor, Berwick Study Skills / Essay Writing tutor, Berwick Primary Maths tutor, Berwick Casual Maths tutor, Berwick Primary English tutor, Berwick High School English tutor, Berwick Casual English tutor, Berwick Primary Science tutor, Berwick Casual Science tutor, Berwick Primary Study Skills / Essay Writing tutor, Berwick University Study Skills / Essay Writing tutor, Berwick Casual Study Skills / Essay Writing tutor