Skip to main content

Information about Helen - Coburg tutor

Profile Picture

Helen's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Helen:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Tutored

Science

Price Guide
Primary $40.00
High School $40.00
College $50.00
University $50.00
Casual $40.00

Map Location

Personal Description:

I have recently completed a Masters in Evolutionary and Comparative Psychology at the University of St Andrews, Scotland. This specialised degree concentrated on primate cognition and behaviour, and my research centered on bonobo and orangutan metacognition. I conducted my research at the Max Planck Institute of Evolutionary Anthropology, Germany. I also hold a Bachelor of Science degree majoring in Zoology, and Ecology/Evolution. This degree covered a variety of biological and ecological topics, including primate and marine species ecology, biology, and conservation. Following my BSc, I completed a Post-Graduate Certificate in Captive Vertebrate Management. This qualification involved two courses: Zoo Curatorship, and Wildlife Ecology and Management. These provided me with valuable knowledge on animal husbandry, preventative health, behavioural enrichment and animal welfare, zoo safety and the importation and exportation of animals, the legal framework under which Australian zoos operate, and wildlife management within zoos, sanctuaries, and National Parks.

I specialise in animal biology, ecology, evolution, conservation, general animal science, animal behaviour and cognition, and general science including some human biology.

Tuition Experience:

I have worked in various educational roles over the last decade. My scientific teaching experience includes roles where I have: designed and implemented educational programs for children at two Australian zoos; led tours, presentations, and school holiday programs about species biology and conservation at the National Zoo and Aquarium, Canberra; and communicated general scientific topics to large and small audiences at Questacon the National Science and Technology Centre. I was also employed as a swimming teacher for over 5 years while I undertook my undergraduate studies, and I have also been employed as a child care worker and baby sitter throughout my career.

Tutoring Approach:

My approach to tuition will be tailored to the student. I will gather information on their needs and interests, and desired outcomes for my tutoring service. Then I will develop a plan and a step by step process in which we can achieve the outcomes that they require (for example understanding a specific topic in more detail, or preparing for a specific exam). I am flexible and relaxed and can adapt easily to the needs of each student as required.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • The University of St Andrews (2017) - Masters of Science: Evolutionary and Comparative Psychology (Masters) (✔ On File)
  • Charles Sturt University (2011) - Post Graduate Certificate in Captive Vertebrate Management (PGCE) (✔ On File)
  • The Australian National University (2009) - Science: Zoology and Ecology/Evolution (Bachelors) (✔ On File)

Tags: Coburg Science tutor, Coburg Primary Science tutor, Coburg High School Science tutor, Coburg College Science tutor, Coburg University Science tutor, Coburg Casual Science tutor