Skip to main content

Information about Gemma - Prahran tutor -

Profile Picture

Gemma's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Gemma:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Tutored

Gemma offers a discount of 50% on their first / introductory lesson!

English

Price Guide
High School $50.00
College $50.00
University $50.00
Casual $50.00

Japanese

Price Guide
Primary $30.00
High School $50.00

Study Skills / Essay Writing

Price Guide
High School $50.00
College $50.00
University $50.00
Casual $50.00

Map Location

Personal Description:

***NOW TAKING ON NEW STUDENTS FOR 2019***

“Achieve great results with a dedicated and enthusiastic tutor, who is passionate about years 7-10 English, VCE English and VCE Literature.”
“Give someone a fish and you feed them for a day; teach someone to fish and you feed them for a lifetime."

Hi there! Thanks for taking the time to visit my profile. My name is Gemma and I’m an Academic Tutor at the University of Melbourne. In my spare time, I like to play sport, take care of my cockatiels ‘Daisy' and ‘Prince', and discuss the human condition with anyone who will listen. The above quote about fishing is one of my favourite quotes to describe my tutoring. I am highly passionate about fostering independence in my students to develop lifelong learning skills. I enjoy tutoring work immensely, love to mentor students and am an advocate for English, literature and Japanese education.

Tuition Experience:

I have overall 7 plus years experience tutoring private clients in secondary school English, Literature and Japanese, as well as experience in a classroom setting. I have seen many of my year 12 VCE students graduate with flying colours, showing that they have achieved their personal best (always a bittersweet moment as I don't get to see them anymore, but I know that they've moved onto bigger and better things!)

I have taught Japanese to grades prep to 6 at Seaspray Primary School in 2011 and Years 7, 8 and 9 at Bayside College (Williamstown) in 2015. I am currently teaching undergraduate students at Melbourne University under the Department of Social and Political Sciences. I also achieved 100% in every SAC for VCE English and a study score of 46. I believe that these experiences make me the perfect tutor for your English, Literature and Japanese learning needs.

I have also tutored adult clients in casual English conversation and more formal English lessons.

Tutoring Approach:

My Tutoring Style

I am personable, organized, friendly and positive in all of my tutoring work. My teaching style is highly holistic and individualistic. I cater all of my lessons to my student's specific learning needs.

In tertiary tutoring, I endeavour to do everything that I can to ensure that my students improve their understanding of the subject content and assignments. I am happy to supply past essay examples, offer assignment advice and edit drafted work. I can also supply sample writing on many key theorists in arts subjects. I offer submission presentation editing to make essays ready for submission.

In secondary school tutoring, I am highly passionate about academic achievement and supporting my students to achieve the best results possible. I want to pass on my analytical tools and critical thinking skills to allow my students to flourish in English and Literature. I also want to pass on my Japanese language skills and memorisation techniques for students studying Japanese. I often receive feedback from students that my work ethic is contagious and fuels students’ desire to achieve their best! I love seeing my students finally graduate year 12, having achieved their personal best, after many years of working with them.

In my time, I have noticed that English, as a mandatory subject, can be highly polarising for many students. Some students believe that the skills required for English do not ‘come naturally’ to them, that English isn’t their ‘cup of tea’ or that they’re a ‘maths/science person’. I believe that English is about the study of humankind, after all, so it can be a highly relatable subject for everyone. I endeavour to make the subject highly relatable and enjoyable for every student through my tutelage. I have many techniques for analysing books and films (as I did a few media subjects in my BA and BA Hons), memorising quotes, analysing persuasive language such as opinion pieces and newspaper articles, and developing inspired opinion pieces (whether written or oral).

Literature has always been a key passion of mine. I loved the text response sections of VCE English and went on to do a major in Literature at Melbourne University for my Bachelor of Arts. I have an extensive knowledge of Western literature and how to analyse novels, plays and poetry, as well as how to teach analytical techniques effectively.

Japanese is one of the four hardest languages to learn as a person from an English speaking background (alongside Chinese, Arabic and Korean). There are 3 major 'alphabets' and the sentence structure in Japanese is completely different to English. At Melbourne University, I studied how anxiety negatively affects language acquisition so I always make sure I lower my students' anxiety during speaking lessons. I remember finding speaking highly intimidating during high school, so this is a major priority of mine. I also provide students with my handy tips and techniques for memorising characters, words, and grammatical structures.

In addition, I always tailor my lessons to my students’ needs. Whether students need extension as high achievers or extra support for developing their skills in an area of struggle, I have strategies for all.

Availability, Location and Fees

I am based in Prahran, can tutor at my home and am more than willing to travel to your home in near surrounding suburbs (South Yarra, Windsor, Armadale, Richmond, Balaclava, Elsternwick etc). I have private access to a safe and secure communal study area on the ground floor of my small apartment building, which is only shared with other students in the student accommodation (and very rarely used!). I often tutor at the **Removed By Admin** Library and Melbourne Uni as well. For locations that take longer than 30 minutes to travel to via public transport, there is a small travel fee. I only charge $50 per hour for one-on-one private tutoring and $40 if you’d like to arrange group tutoring with some friends (2 – 4 works best). The travel fees if it takes longer than 30 minutes via public transport from my location in Prahran are as follows:

• $50 per hour from my home or within 30 minutes travel
• $60 per hour for more than 30 minutes travel

I offer a 50% discount for first lessons, so the first lesson will only cost $25 per hour.

I also offer online tutoring, for those in remote areas or just like the convenience!

I hold a valid Working with Children’s Check.

Contact me today so we can get you on track to achieving your best this year. I look forward to hearing from you!

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ On File)

Qualifications:

  • The University of Melbourne (2016) - Bachelor of Arts (Honours) (Bachelors) (✔ On File)
  • The University of Melbourne (2013) - Bachelor of Arts (Bachelors) (✔ On File)
  • The University of Melbourne (2012) - Diploma of Languages (Other) (✔ On File)
  • Wesley College (2009) - VCE English and Japanese (School) (✘ Not On File)

Tags: Prahran English tutor, Prahran Japanese tutor, Prahran Study Skills / Essay Writing tutor, Prahran High School English tutor, Prahran College English tutor, Prahran University English tutor, Prahran Casual English tutor, Prahran Primary Japanese tutor, Prahran High School Japanese tutor, Prahran High School Study Skills / Essay Writing tutor, Prahran College Study Skills / Essay Writing tutor, Prahran University Study Skills / Essay Writing tutor, Prahran Casual Study Skills / Essay Writing tutor