Skip to main content

Information about Catherine - Warringah tutor

Profile Picture

Catherine's profile picture

References

This is how 2 referees rated Catherine:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Tutored

ESL

Price Guide
Primary $38.00
High School $38.00
College $38.00
University $38.00
Casual $38.00

Map Location

Personal Description:

Hello, my name is Catherine, I'm 33 and I live on the northern beaches of Sydney with my husband. I was born in England and moved to Australia with my family when I was three years old. One of my passions is to travel the world to experience different cultures and to meet new people. I have traveled as a backpacker through Western Europe, South East Asia, India and South America. Some of my hobbies include swimming and body-boarding at the beach, bushwalking, camping, waterskiing, scuba diving, cooking and spending time with friends and family. I am also very interested in the TV and film industry and I do some occasional acting for a bit of fun and to experience some new challenges.

Tuition Experience:

I have been working with young children (0-9 years) as a teacher's assistant for 5 years in a variety of settings including long-daycare, pre-school and primary school. Most of my experience is with the 0-5 age range. I have 4 years' experience working within a setting that follows the Montessori method of education. Whilst the Montessori methodology has inspired much of my teaching philosophy, I am very open and balanced in my teaching style and beliefs to ensure I incorporate a variety of methodologies and techniques.

Tutoring Approach:

I understand that each individual has their own learning style so I therefore create a teaching and learning environment to suit the needs of the learner. Children learn best through play so I like to incorporate games, songs and other fun elements to make the lesson engaging and enjoyable. For children and adults alike I focus on relevant aspects of everyday life, including topics of interest to the learner. Lessons will always include the four areas of speaking, listening, reading and writing with some of the focus areas including vocabulary, pronunciation and grammar. In addition, if there are any specific topics or focus areas you would like to concentrate on then I would be happy to accommodate this for you.

If you would like to give your pre-school age child (3-5 years) a head-start in grasping some of the foundations of English prior to their starting primary school then I provide short intensive lessons of 30 minutes. As young children have much shorter attention spans than adults, a 30 minute lesson is more age-appropriate compared to a 60 minute lesson which is better suited to primary school age children and above.

I have a well-equipped learning environment in my home for providing lessons however I am also willing to travel to you (either your home or an agreed neutral location) for an additional $5-$10. I can also provide online lessons if that suits you better.

I would be happy to discuss further with you to see how best I can assist you or your child.

Tutor Resources: (free to download)

Please login or register to download tutor resources.

Native Language: English
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: No (✘ Not On File)

Qualifications:

  • TESOL AU (2018) - TESOL Certificate (College) (✘ Not On File)
  • Curtin University (2016) - Bachelor of Early Childhood Education (0-8 years) (Bachelors) (✔ On File)

Tags: Warringah ESL tutor, Warringah Primary ESL tutor, Warringah High School ESL tutor, Warringah College ESL tutor, Warringah University ESL tutor, Warringah Casual ESL tutor