Information About Imogen - Norwich tutor

Profile Picture

Imogen's profile picture

References

This is how 3 referees rated Imogen:

Reliability

Trustworthiness

Professionalism

Badges

Subjects Taught

English

Hourly Rate
Primary £20.00
Secondary £20.00
GCSE £20.00
A-Level £22.00

History

Hourly Rate
Primary £20.00
Secondary £20.00
GCSE £20.00

Map Location

Map for Imogen (Ms)

Share

Personal Description:

I am a current student on the Creative Writing MA at UEA, which involves a critical as well as a creative approach to literature: since reading and writing really shape my life at the moment, this is a great time for me to start working with others. I am looking to teach primarily English and History, as these are two areas I have lots of experience in, not to mention enthusiasm for.

I have worked in museums since graduating in 2009 (and volunteered for many years before that), first at the Norfolk Museums and Archaeology Service, and then at the British Museum. I have also volunteered for the National Trust, at local history events, and with contemporary artists. My area of interest has always been heritage access and education, so I have lots of experience in helping young people to engage with – and critically assess – texts and sources that are new to them, as well as suiting activities to a student's personal learning style.

I have recently returned to Norwich and hope to start volunteering again within the museum sector which should give me lots of fresh food for thought. My current writing project involves using historical artefacts as inspiration for my own fiction, and this is a great way both to sharpen up writing skills and gain a deeper empathy for the past. You can see what I've been up to at my blog: **Web Address Removed**

Tutoring Experience:

Although I have never tutored one-to-one before, I have plenty of relevant experience and transferable skills. Whilst volunteering with the Interpretation Department at Norwich Castle Museum, I helped visitors of all ages learn about history. I also conducted guided tours, object handling sessions, and craft activities. As a volunteer for the National Trust I put together educational information, activities and tours which incorporated a range of learning styles to help children get the most out of their visits.

During an internship I worked with tutors from City University New York to create an e-book which was used to teach undergraduate history students. I also created my own educational e-books based on the poems in Edgar Lee Master's 'Spoon River Anthology'. I have spent most of my career thinking carefully about how learning might be improved, how I might help people engage with new subjects in both literature and history, and how to explain concepts in a clear and interesting way. I feel I am well prepared for one-on-one tutoring.

Tutoring Approach:

I know how daunting approaching a text can be sometimes, and that close analysis feels like a huge task when you haven't done it before. Through one-to-one teaching I will help students acquire the confidence and the tools to consider set texts and sources, as well as the skill set to write effective essays and their own creative work.

I will use a range of teaching techniques to help students work out what's best for them, but I am particularly interested in using as hands-on an approach as possible. Thanks to my degree - which placed a great emphasis on the history, architecture and literature of Norwich - and subsequent local museum work, I know the city extremely well. There is such a wealth of primary sources here from all eras, from the Vikings all the way through to the Industrial Revolution and beyond, and I would really like to sometimes incorporate these things into my teaching. The odd session visiting places of interest in Norwich can really help bring syllabus topics to life, and particularly suits students who feel less confident in an academic setting. Given my background and discipline I will use artefacts in my teaching where appropriate.

I am happy to teach AQA, OCR, Edexcel and WJEC. I would also be glad to help work on a student's general literacy skills, or support them in enhancing and exploring their own creative writing.

In terms of where the sessions will be held, I am based in the Golden Triangle and more than happy to teach in my comfortable, clean, and cosy home. I am also willing to travel to you, as long as you are easily accessible by public transport or on foot, as I don't have a car.

As I have some weekend commitments I would prefer to mostly teach on week days/evenings, however this could be negotiable once we have established a routine.

Qualifications:

  • UEA (2009) - BA Archaeology, Anthropology, Art History (Bachelors) (✔ Copy provided)
  • The Tiffin Girls' School (2006) - A-levels in English Literature, History, and Classical Civilisations (College)
  • The Tiffin Girls' School (2006) - Advanced Extension Award (Distinction) in English Literature (College)
  • The Tiffin Girls' School (2005) - AS levels in Philosophy and General Studies (College)
Native Language: English (British)
Availability: Weekends / Weekdays (all times)
References Available: Yes (✔ Copy provided)

Tags: Norwich English tutor, Norwich History tutor, Norwich Primary English tutor, Norwich Secondary English tutor, Norwich GCSE English tutor, Norwich A-Level English tutor, Norwich Primary History tutor, Norwich Secondary History tutor, Norwich GCSE History tutor